Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

XV6700 modifcations and tools

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows Mobile Phones' started by WirelessBeachBum, Mar 18, 2006.

  1. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    XV6700 modifications and tools

    I just wanted to start a thread about 6700 modifications.

    A few tools I use:

    Enable Wifi and wireless at the same time:

    1) start phm regedit (google it to find a download location) go to HKEY LOCAL MACHINE>SERVICES>WirelessMGR
    2) Edit the key called mutexflag change the value from 1 to 0
    3) accept the changes close the program set you phone down and WAIT 15 minutes.
    4) reset phone by pushing the reset button on the bottom

    Put the phone in Field Test Mode:

    From the phone dialpad call ##33284 and then hit send this will turn on the field test program.

    Enable Dial up networking over Bluetooth:

    Dial ##3328873 and hit send, then check the enable bt dun enable option and reset your phone, you should now be able to configure your PC or laptop to use BT DUN.

    Does anyone else have a good modification to this phone?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 WirelessBeachBum, Mar 18, 2006
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2006
  2. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Add Timer & Disconnect Button To Data Connection Bubble.

    Click HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Click ControlPanel
    Click Phone
    [at this point, the buttom grey status bar should read \HKLM\ControlPanel\Phone'
    Click the bottom menu 'edit'
    Select new dword value

    Change the value name to "Flags2" (no quotes).
    Select the 'hexidecimal' button.
    Type 10
    Click ok.
    You should now see in the 'name/data' section:

    Flags2 16 (0x00010)

    When done, reset the device.

    ---------------------------------

    Change Keyboard LED Duration

    Click HKEY_Current_User
    Click Control Panel
    Click Backlight
    Scroll Down & Click "QKeyLedTimeout"
    Change "Value Data" To Whatever Number You Want (In Seconds)
    Click OK
    When done, reset the device.
     
  3. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Make PIE look like version 6.0

    Click HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Click SOFTWARE
    Click Microsoft
    Click Windows
    Click CurrentVersion
    Click Internet Settings
    Click User Agent
    - Change the default value from "Mozilla/2.0" to "Mozilla/4.0".
    - Change the "Version" value from "MSIE 3.02" to "MSIE 6.0".
    - Change the "Platform" value from "Windows CE" to "Windows NT 5.1".

    ( Note: Some web sites may just compare the user agent string, but if this is not enough, browse to the Post Platform\ sub key and delete the "240x320" value that specifies screen size. )

    ( Note: This can cause content problems. Esp. with video streams. You will get the following errors - Cannot play the file. The file is either corrupted or the Player does not support the format you are trying to play". )
     
  4. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    An easy way to get rid of the "user configurations" Verizon enables is to hard reset the 6700 (hold down both soft keys while hitting the reset key.)

    Once your device resets and you begin the set-up wizard you can then reset the device before any of the "customizations" are installed. If you want to go back and install the "customizations" you can install them one by one by unlocking the Extended Rom and then opening the cab files yourself.

    You can unlock the extended rom by downloading this program (you will need to register to download.

    http://buzzdev.net/component/option,com_remository/Itemid,100/func,fileinfo/id,204/

    This file will be a RAR file, which you can either open on your PC or download PocketRAR, Here:

    http://www.rarlab.com/download.htm

    And you can browse to the Extended Rom and view the CAB files by installing Total Commander and typing /Extended_ROM/

    You can now view the cab files that would have normally installed.

    The important one's to install seem to be:

    Enable_RingTone.sa.CAB
    Link.sa.CAB
    Region.sa.CAB
    Signed_MMS3.0.6.22_Apache_VZW_26Sep05.CAB
    VZWProvision.PPC400_2577MTM.CAB (update 4-5-2006 I don't think the last two files are really needed, unless you are planning to run Verizon's Wireless Sync program, and since I don't live in an EVDO area, or use Exchange any longer, I don't need them on my device.)
    VZWProvision_Signed.sa.CAB

    The nice part about installing CAB's this way is that you can uninstall them at anytime.

    Thankfully VZW doesn't install all the Junk that Sprint does, but they do add some restrictions, such as crippling WiFi and Bluetooth...this should help eliminate both of those restrictions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 WirelessBeachBum, Mar 19, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2006
  5. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    Re: XV6700 modifications and tools

    Enable your phone to sync with Network Time instead of your PC.


    The key is under, HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\OEM\PhoneSetting. It is labled "HiddenTimesyncPage". Just change the Dword value from a 1 to a 0.

    Then the option to sync will appear in your phone options...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    I feel pretty silly about this one, as it's not really a modification of anything, but is more of a "user guide" type of thing.

    If you want to listen to MP3's or streaming media on your Bluetooth Headset, all you have to do is start the media, then click the "action" button on your BT Headset, this will then transfer the audio to your headset.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    Change Pocket IE in WM5 to scroll page by page instead of link by link...


    Key: HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Navigation
    Value: 4-Way Nav
    Type: Decimal (default value = 1)

    Change the default to 0
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    If your stylus get's loose...takes about a week or two and it will.

    If you bend it, it will stay in better...just very slightly bend it and you will notice a difference.

    In the past I had placed some superglue on the stylus...but that was always bothersome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    ^^ Nice Tip! ^^

    Today Screen Wireless

    This will show if you are on your home network or roaming, also it will show if your WiFi & bluetooth is On/Off. Very cool hack, thanks to that_kid for posting this over at pdaphonehome.com

    Click HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Click SOFTWARE
    Click Microsoft
    Click Today
    Click Items
    Click "Wireless"

    Thier will be nothing in this folder to start!

    Now add the fallowing to the folder

    Add new Dword with a name Flags and the value is "0"
    Add new Dword with a name Options and the value is "0"
    Add new String Value with a name DLL value is "netui.dll"
    Add new Dword with a name Order and the value is "0"
    Add new Dword with a name Enabled and the value is "1"
    Add new Dword with a name Type and the value is "4

    Now close the program and soft reset the phone.
     
  10. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Install New Sprint ROM & Remove The Junk

    Thanks for Rally1 & bit_bucket over at pdaphonehome.com

    1) Install the new ROM update, and let it do it's thing and install all of the junkware. Download it here

    2) Delete any existing partnerships with ActiveSync, and then reconnect the PPC6700 to the computer.

    3) When prompted create a new partnership, and uncheck all of the checkmarks by the sync items, so you get an ActiveSync profile that does not sync anything.

    4a) Download the Apache ROM unlocker from the following link: http://www.buzzdev.net/index.php?option=com_simpleboard&Itemid=59&func=view&catid=59&id=9459#9459

    4b) Download Total Commander from the following link: http://ghisler.fileburst.com/ce/tcmdpocketarm.exe

    4c) Download ROM2 viewer
    http://urprey.com/web/ppc6700/unlock.ext.rom.wizard.cab

    5) For the ROM Unlocker, they used RAR to compress. You will need to get WinRAR to unrar. Once that is done put the ROM Unlocker on your PPC6700 by using the Explore option of ActiveSync.

    6) Install TotalCommander over Active Sync.

    7) For the ROM2 viewer, you first need to add .CAB to the file name, by renaming the file. Once that is done put the ROM2 viewer on your PPC6700 by using the Explore option of ActiveSync.

    8) Disconnect the PPC6700 from the computer and use File Explorer on it to find the ROM Unlocker & ROM2 viewer.

    9) Next click the ROM unlocker file (on your phone) and it will pop a dialog box. Click ok.

    10) Click on the unlock.ext.rom.wizard.cab (on your phone) and it should say it installed successfully

    11) Soft reset the device

    12) Once back up run the total commander program out of Start -> Programs -> Total Commander.

    13) Type in the path \Extended_ROM2\ in the path box

    With steps 14 & 19 it is good to make a backup copies, and put them in your storage card or PC first.

    14) Select the config file from that folder move it to you Documents and Settings to modify it.

    15) Pull up the properties on the file and uncheck the read only attirbute of the config file.

    16) Use total commander to edit it. Romove the following lines:

    CAB: \Extended_ROM\WTLAudiblePlayerPocketPC.arm.CAB
    CAB: \Extended_ROM\AudibleSample.sa.CAB
    CAB: \Extended_ROM\sprint_software_store.CAB
    CAB: \Extended_ROM\GetGL.CAB
    CAB: \Extended_ROM\Disable_RemoveProgram.sa.CAB

    17) Pull up the properties of the file again and re-enable the read only attribute of the config file.

    18) Move the file back to \Extended_ROM2\ directory.

    19) Delete the above cabs from the ROM2

    20) Hard Reset the device

    21) After it installs all of the necessarry files, go to the remove programs setting and remove the 2 programs listed there. I dont know what is installing them, but they are junkware related so get rid of them.
     
  11. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Today Screen Wireless Pic

    This is the ending result of post #9
     

    Attached Files:

  12. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW

    I couldn't get this one to work...It would show the wireless option in my Today settings, but would not show on the actuall today screen.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Umm... strange??? I wonder what could be blocking it. :(
     
  14. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Can't for get about this one! Thanks to scottb posting this in another thead.

    View WAP sites in PIE

    Click Click HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Click SOFTWARE
    Clcik Microsoft
    Click Windows
    Click CurrentVersion
    Click Internet Settings

    You should see a String Value named "Accept Header" (if it is not present create it), add the below text to its value:

    ,text/vnd.wap.wml

    Reset your phone.
     
  15. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    You have the SPCS PPC-6700 whereas we have the Verizon version... perhaps that makes the difference? Also, have you installed the ROM update yet? It's not available for VZW yet.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW

    That's what I was thinking the issue was...I didn't see that DLL file on my device, I did see a dll file that had a similar name netmui.dll.0409...

    Oh well well see once VZW releases the new ROM files.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Yes, that or the new ROM has to be the reason it's not working on VX. I did install the new ROM. I just hope Verizon dosn't mess it up for you guys, its a great update. :)
     
  18. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    If VZW "messes it up" I will just unlock the ROM (hopefully) and only install the needed upgrades.

    I sure they are going to keep things crippled on it...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. bostonjohn

    bostonjohn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Duh
    How do you hard reset as opposed to soft rset. What is meant by BOTH soft buttons? cheers
     
  20. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    A hard reset is done by pressing & hold both soft keys (they are marked with -), and inserting the stylus in the normal reset hole on the bottom of the phone.

    FYI, With a hard reset you will lose all installed programs, contacts, settings, etc... so please make sure you back up all your important things first.
     
  21. jrsp

    jrsp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: XV6700 modifications and tools

    I get "Please Enter Unlock Code" when I do this. Any idea on what that means? Thx.
     
  22. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Re: XV6700 modifications and tools

    Yeah, if it's the Verizon version, it's all zeroes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    Re: XV6700 modifications and tools

    If it's the Sprint one who knows? Do they still use esn specific unlock codes.

    I know when I worked for them that was the biggest pain, being at a customers office and trying to get through to someone that could give me the unlock code to do manual programming.

    The Verizon code is 000000 like cryogenic said.

    Versus using the dial codes to get to those apps (epst and fieldtest.exe) you can also use the file explorer (check show hidden files option) and find them in your "windows folder" on your 6700 and then copy a shortcut to your programs file... This makes it pretty easy to to a field test pretty quickly. Since I sell inbuilding systems, now, it's very important to be able to do a quick RF test. But I'm sure most people like to do it to "verify" Verizon's coverage.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Re: XV6700 modifications and tools

    They still do. :( I had mine for my 6700, but lost it during my move.
     
  25. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    I updated the original post on the "Unlocked ROM" Unless you need VZW Wireless sync, I don't think you need to install the last two files.

    Enable_RingTone.sa.CAB
    Link.sa.CAB
    Region.sa.CAB
    Signed_MMS3.0.6.22_Apache_VZW_26Sep05.CAB
    VZWProvision.PPC400_2577MTM.CAB (update 4-5-2006 I don't think the last two files are really needed, unless you are planning to run Verizon's Wireless Sync program, and since I don't live in an EVDO area, or use Exchange any longer, I don't need them on my device.)
    VZWProvision_Signed.sa.CAB
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  26. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    so does the Sprint 6700 not include fieldtrial.exe? I would assume it does but who knows. I like the fact that it's so easy to get the phone into field test mode. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  27. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Yes it dose. :)
     
  28. dmcdou6112

    dmcdou6112 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CORONA< ca
    What Exactly Does The Field Trail Do?
     
  29. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    field trial will give you information on your signal strength in dbm's as well as other information about your current channel send recieve power etc. It's good for diagnosing signal problems.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. rdgraphics

    rdgraphics New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colombia
    i got an PPC6700 but someone put a password on the start i cant access to my device, what can i do??? if i make and hard reset can erase the password?? i have a backup of my information.

    thanks
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2018 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice