Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

WorldClass International Service?

Discussion in 'T-Mobile Forum' started by Gamer03, Dec 22, 2004.

  1. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    If we bought the T-Mobile Get More $39.99 plan, how does the WordClass International Service work?

    For example, if we called from our landline to our T-Mobile phone in France (calling my parents), would we be the only ones paying for the call and our parents call would have the unlimited incoming calls, or would our parents also pay for the call, since it says $0.99/minute while in France? Or if we called them on the weekend, would they use their weekend minutes? Or would their call have free unlimited incoming minutes or anytime minutes?

    Also, if my parents called from France to the U.S., would they be charged the $0.99/minute? Does the $0.99/minute include international roaming and long distance charges?What would happen if they called us? Does it use their anytime minutes and n&w minutes depending on the time of day?

    Since T-Mobile's website says that you get to keep the same 10-digit number you use at home, if they called on their T-Mobile number from France to our Sprint cell phone number, then the call would be just like they were calling from our local area (except they would be paying $0.99/minute)? Am I correct in saying this?

    Sorry for the long list of questions.

    Thanks in advance for anyone's help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Matt

    Matt Twin girls!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,882
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lititz, Pa.
    My Phone:
    MyTouch 4G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    You'll be paying roaming for all calls in France, as I understand the rates, and I think those rates are all-inclusive. I don't think plan minutes are used at all, but I'm not sure. Your final question is true - calling from France, you still have your US number with your TM phone, and then you can call normally. you might want to check to see if you have to dial the international code for the US (011 I think) first - before the 10 digit number. Yuo may also want to get the T-Mobile phone unlocked so you can buy a prepaid SIM for use while in France, so you can get a local number and make local calls.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    From anywhere in Europe you need to dial 001-XXX-XXX-XXXX to call someone in the U.S.
    You will not use any plan minutes whatsoever while in Europe; It will all be roaming. If you plan on talking more than a couple minutes I would strongly advice getting a French SIM Card from one of the 3 providers.
    Hope this helps,
    Andy
     
  4. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    If my parents purchased a French SIM Card, then I wouldn't be able to call their U.S. number? Am I correct in saying this?

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Matt, how would you get the T-Mobile phone unlocked?

    What would happen if we bought the phone from Amazon? How would we get the phone unlocked after buying it from their website?

    Does the process screw up the phone?

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Matt

    Matt Twin girls!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,882
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lititz, Pa.
    My Phone:
    MyTouch 4G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Yes, whenever their phone has the French SIM inserted, that is the only number that will reach them. It would be primarily for them to use locally, so they don't have to pay roaming charges etc to call a restaurant down the street, for example, to check their hours.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Matt

    Matt Twin girls!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,882
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lititz, Pa.
    My Phone:
    MyTouch 4G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    You have to contact customer care. It might be easiest to submit it via the mytmobile support website. There is no email address. I can send you a list of the requirements you need to send along with your request (stuff like IMEI of the device, billing account info, etc. for verification).

    All new phones that are branded T-Mobile come locked, no matter where you get them, so you can purchase from Amazon. T-Mobile's requirement is 90 days of service before you can get a device unlocked, but I have heard that it can be waived, but I can't guarantee that.

    The process should not mess up the phone, you should receive a set of directions on how to unlock the phone as well as the necessary code.

    Also, you need to make sure that World Class service is activated BEFORE you go. It is turned off by default to help combat fraud.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. ZaphodB

    ZaphodB Signal Go Down De Hole...
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    OC (USA) / 77 (FR)
    My Phone:
    LG VX5600
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon(US) Orange(FR)
    I didn't see part of the question answered, so:

    Assuming you both have World-Class on your plan:

    You, located in Florida, call a US T-Mobile phone located in France: $0.00 for you, $0.99/minute for them.

    They, located in France, call your US T-Mobile phone in Florida: $0.99/minute for them, may take plan minutes from you if the caller ID is blocked.

    You, located in Florida, call their French SIM card, located in France: $0.29/minute for you, free for them (but they have a €25 or so initial investment in the SIM).

    Best option if you plan on spending more than 30 minutes on the phone to them: You, located in Florida, buy a phone card (watch out for maintenance, per-call fees, etc.). They, located in France, get a French SIM with the smallest amount of airtime. You call them. $0.03/minute (varies) for you, €25 or so setup fee for them, but calls free.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Isn't it 011-xxx-xxx-xxxx? Just checking...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    correct, then you would call their French Mobile Number.
     
  11. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    $0.03 to call a French Cellphone?? Could you let me know how this is possible...I have not found that cheap of a per minute rate to European Cellphones with any prepaid phone card, etc. :)
     
  12. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    nope, from Europe, dialing internationally to, say, the United States, it's 001, not 011. I know, I've lived there ;)
     
  13. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    What is the 011 prefix then? I thought there was somewhere that you used that for international calls to the US. Obviously I was wrong...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    The 011 thing is used to call internationally from the United States to other countries, from other countries, like European countries, you dial 001 for the United States.
    For example, if I wanted to call Germany from the U.S. I would dial 01149-and so on.
    If I wanted to call Germany from France I would dial 0049-and so on.
    Is that explanation any good???
    ~Andy :)
     
  15. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. OK, I get it now. I understand what the 011 is for now. It is the international access number needed to dial outside of the US. Makes perfect sense. I just wasn't sure when I saw the 001, because they are so close!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile

    Lol, better late then never, huh?? :D
    True, those numbers are close ;)
     
  17. EdwardP

    EdwardP Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,170
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My Phone:
    Android
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile (Deutsche Telekom)
    On a mobile, isn't it "+1" and the phone number with area code, to call a US or Canadian number from overseas?

    I believe the + is obtained by pressing the * key twice.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Yes, Edward, you can also put a +1, or +49(for Germany), or whatever and this will work, you are absolutely right!
     
  19. ZaphodB

    ZaphodB Signal Go Down De Hole...
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    OC (USA) / 77 (FR)
    My Phone:
    LG VX5600
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon(US) Orange(FR)
    The one I have doesn't differentiate between fixed and mobile for Western Europe.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Zap, is it a prepaid phone card?? Could you let me know what you use?
    Thanks,
    Andy
     
  21. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    The phone would only be for emergencies, so we would probably just get a T-Mobile phone with a 10 digit U.S. phone number.

    Here is what I found on T-Mobile's website:

    While traveling outside the US:

    Back to the US:

    (just add the “+” key) Dial the “+” key 1/area code/local number

    To another country: Dial the “+” key/country code/city code/local number

    Within the country: Dial the “+” key/country/code city/code/local number

    Inside the US:

    From the US to another country: Dial the “+” key/country code/city code/local number
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Thanks everyone for your advice and expertise on the subject.

    I appreciate everyone's help.

    Have a safe and fun holiday will your family and friends.

    Happy Holidays!!! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice