Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Wi/Fi Card?

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by JGreer97, Feb 7, 2007.

  1. JGreer97

    JGreer97 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spring Lake NC
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, AT&T
    I was wondering if the Wi/Fi card form alltel works good. I am using my phone as a modem right now works pretty good but just takes time to get it started up. Also does the Wi/Fi card boot up quick?


    With Alltel Since 1998
     
  2. Shockwave13

    Shockwave13 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    Moto V9m RAZR2
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel =)
    The cards Alltel offers are not WiFi they are cards for Alltels MobileLink and Broadband service. You would have to purchase the card and then also a data plan for the card to use for the service. I know in NC they have really good coverage and a good portion of the state is running EVDO the rest is 1X. They also roam off of Sprint EVDO towers as well for their service so that helps. The cards work just like any other card for a laptop or pc pretty much... hope that helps...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. JGreer97

    JGreer97 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spring Lake NC
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, AT&T
    Wi/Fi don't know what I was thinking. My question is do you get good speed out of it and how fast does it start up?


    With Alltel Since 1998
     
  4. Shockwave13

    Shockwave13 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    Moto V9m RAZR2
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel =)
    You get pretty good speeds from the 1x but you get really excellent speeds when you are hitting the EVDO network. It starts up pretty easily and pretty quickly. I dont have it myself but I know several ppl that do and they like using it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. JGreer97

    JGreer97 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spring Lake NC
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, AT&T
    Thank you for you input


    With Alltel Since 1998
     
  6. Mat44720

    Mat44720 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    JGreer97, what types of speed do you get from your phone using it as a modem? I just added that feature to mine and it only connects at about 2x a dial up rate.

    thanks,

    Mat
     
  7. JGreer97

    JGreer97 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spring Lake NC
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, AT&T
    In an EVDO market i was getting 240kbs. At leas that is what it listed it as when it connected never really ran a speed test on it



    With Alltel Since 1998
     
  8. Mat44720

    Mat44720 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using #777 to dial to with username of yourphonenumber@alltel.net and alltel as the password? I also am in an EVDO market and not getting that fast of a connection. I am using a V710 over bluetooth.

    thanks!
     
  9. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    That's the connection between your phone and the computer, not really the phone and the network or the computer and the internet. Best way to tell is to use one of the testing sites online.

    To make sure you are getting full speeds, set you connections properties connection to the max. I think it is 912000 or something.....

    Then you have to make sure that the phone is setup to use the data network. It's called the FST1 code. If you have a pic/vid messaging pack on your account it will be put on automatically. Most are, I guess you could call, enable it. Then cancel it later, then it should stay on your account afterward.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. JGreer97

    JGreer97 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spring Lake NC
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, AT&T
    not sure what I number and all was being used. Moble Phone Tools Did all of that for me. You using bluetooth might be some of the prob. I was using the cable.


    With Alltel Since 1998
     
  11. Mat44720

    Mat44720 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Strunke,

    I did that with the modem speed set it to max, and I know that the speed listed is the connection speed between the notebook and the device, but when I run a speed test on it online it shows 60-100 kbps max. I should be on the data package as I do subscribe to it, but I will have to check as they it listed for $29 on the site and I am only paying $25 so I may not be in the access for EVDO.


    Thanks for the info
     
  12. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    Well 25 is all you should need to pay for it. It's possible that you are either in a fringe area of 1x and evdo or the network is being used heavily. I think it is more likely you are in a fringe area....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2021 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice