Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Why do most new GSM phones have 1800 and not 900

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by azcellphonejunkie, Mar 3, 2005.

  1. spezi

    spezi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you can't say the world is 'converting to' 1800, it's just used more and more commonly by either new operators or operators improving their capacity. But in both cases it doesn't mean that 900 MHz is less used.
     
  2. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    She was there again yesterday and still had nothing! Very odd...

    She is in Tokyo now for the next 2 days before heading back here. Of course we all know Japan doesn't have any GSM networks.

    Check out this photo

    She was at a store in Hong Kong yesterday and took this photo. There are some great phones there :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,256
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 13 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, AT&T Prepaid
    This tells the story. They do it for the carrier. Cingular for some reason does not want the 900 band in most of their tri-band phones, the the v180 seems to be an exception.
     
  4. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    While I don't have to like it, I have to agree with you Matt on this one...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Thanks azcellphonejunkie, it is definitely very odd, did her phone just say "no service"? I am going to follow this up with Cingular and see what they have to say.

    PS: That is quite a collection of phones, so is she bringing you one from there?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Yep, it said No Service on her screen. It could have been the hotel she was staying at, but I know she carried the phone with her when she went out, and after 3 days, I got a text message I had sent her returned to me undeliverable.

    She was saying that the prices of the phones are about the same as here, so I told her to get me a Razr if she found one for under $300. Unfortunately, she was only able to find one at this store for $600 :(

    Oh well, she is in Japan right now and found a bunch of brochures there. I will take photos of them later this week when she gets back and post a link to the site I am hosting them on!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    I talked with my friend at Cingular, he is really puzzled that she could not get a Cingular roaming signal in HK, according to him HK has 4 very strong roaming partners.

    The only think he could think of is that for some reason international roaming was not active on her phone. I think viewfly ran into the same problem in Paris, even though he had checked before leaving.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    That is the thing though, the phone did work for her on the CMCC (China Mobile) network when she got there. I wonder if it was where she was. It wouldn't seem possible though since she was in such a large city. Kinda like being in a hotel in NYC and not having signal you know!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. WiggyFife

    WiggyFife still knows nothing!!!
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    My Phone:
    Droid X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    oooh aaah!!! pretty phones in the links...
     
  10. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I'm not sure if anybody has explained this and I don't have time to read this whole threat so I'll just go ;) I hope that's ok:
    Most European 900 providers have, at least in urban areas, overlaid their netowrks with 1800, since they have licenses for that as well. Additionally, every European country has at least one 1800 only carriers,who have very well built out networks as well, but they sometimes don't reach very isolated areas, so if you had to chose between having the 900 or 1800 mode for Europe, I'd go 900 any day ;)
    Hope this was uselful at all.
     
  11. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    That has kindof been the consensus around here with what we have determined. The only thing though is why are companies like Nokia choosing to put 1800 in the phone as the third band of the tri-band phone (850/1800/1900). If 900 is so good and widespread throughout the world, where is the incentive for Nokia to put 1800 in the phone? There WILL be places you go that have only 900 and no 1800 yet, and that user would not be able to use the phone and bring Roaming monies to Cingular for using their phone there....

    A simple question that doesn't have a simple answer :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I wonder about that too. I'd expect them to put the 900 band on phones IF they only want to put one band on there(either 900 or 1800), since even in countries like Germany, where Vodafone, for example, has 1800 overlay through most of their network, and there are two 1800 only providers, there are still isolated areas where a 1800 only phone would get no service...strange!!
     
  13. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Back to square 1 on this. I have started to make other people skeptical on this now :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Nope, not me I am still convinced that either 1800 is the way of the future or the carriers are discouraging more 900 because of saturation.... :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    but 1800 is not yet as well built out as 900, and a lot of carriers there are using both there because of the additional capacity.
     
  16. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    I guess they may just want to compromise in that the people that will be roaming there will be able to use 1800 and not take up the valuable 900 spectrum. However, this limits the places one could go with that type of phone.

    Charylee, I know I'm preaching to the choir on this one because you are headed to Egypt and have to bring a 900 phone.

    I'm sure they just figure that since most people will travel to populated European countries that have 1800 installed, they will be OK with only 1800 in the phone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    agreed but 1800 is happening more and more. As AZ mentioned China is converting to 1800 and so will Malayasia, India already has a large 1800 coverage and more coverage is happening. These are three of the most populate areas of the world. Since 900 is having a capacity issue the carriers want more people to use 1800 where possible.

    This is just my opinion and we are ofcourse all speculating. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Where are carriers experiencing capacity issues on the 900 band?
    I also have no clue about China, I'm mostly talking about Europe. ;)
     
  19. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    LOL...true but it has been a great speculative and informative thread. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    China came up in a related thread that AZ had posted.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    True, but can't they just add 1800 like they do in Europe to take care of capacity problems? Why totally migrate to 1800 or whatever they're doing?
     
  22. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Very good point, thanks charlyee...

    If there are areas where 900 is overloaded and 1800 is helping to ease that, I would want to be on the 1800 network as well!

    I guess the way to go is to have a quad-band phone so that you have the best of all the bands!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Yeah I think it all started when I was referring to GSM world and the fact that they don't list 1800 as one of the bands used. I told my fiance that her phone would not work over there since she has a 850/1800/1900 phone because GSM world only lists 900 throughout the country.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Hey Andy, I think you misunderstood one of charlyee's comments. They aren't migrating over, just adding sites on the 1800 spectrum to help alevate capacity issues. Is that right Charlyee?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Yes, that's what I meant, thanks for clarifying that for me. I definitely agree a quad band is the way to go, so why are you looking at the 6230 when you have a quad?...LOL

    I will resist the temptation of getting up on my soapbox for quad Nokias. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  26. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    I think I am done for the time being with looking for the 6230. I sold a 6340i on ebay about 2 weeks ago that I had recently purchased, but the address that I shipped it to was not valid. I can't get in touch with the buyer, so it looks like I will be keeping the phone and refunding his money less shipping. I do like the phone, but it is a bit big for my taste. I got it to take advantage of the GAIT capabilities and they don't offer them in my area unfortunately.

    Watch my profile to see if i decide to keep it!

    I know it doesn't have international roaming capabilities, but from my tests with it here in my office, I got great service and was able to hold calls just fine!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  27. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,003
    Likes Received:
    854
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    Az,

    I suppose you could link this discussion to another thread from last year, When will tri band phones die? .

    Whatever the reasons today, probably most travelers find the 1800 band very adequate, just as foreigners generally fine 1900 ok in the US, in the big cities where they are likely to vacation.
     
  28. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    OH,okay, this makes more sense. I was reading in a hurry. ;)
    Hold on, guys, carriers that are overlaying their 900 networks with 1800 to ease capacity, it's not like the 900 channels will still be overloaded and the 1800 channels won't be...most users, in Europe, have at least dual band phones with both, 900 and 1800 and the network will have users use either one so none of the channels get overloaded. Does that make sense?
     
  29. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    Great point viewfly...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. ShoresGuy

    ShoresGuy Euer WA Experte in Europa
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,529
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    94065,US/Köln, Germany
    My Phone:
    HTC/T-Mobile MDA II PPC
    Wireless Provider(s):
    E-Plus (BASE 12 month flatrate)/Vodafone Germany
    A slightly late response as I have been busy the past few days. There is also another reason why 1800 added to phones released for the US. Nokia does this the most as may already have been stated.

    A number of Latin American and Caribbean countries use either only 900, 1800 or a combination of 900/1800 since their European parent companies use either combination. Here are the ones I know of:

    Brazil: GSM 1800 only: TIM Brasil, Claro and a couple of others.
    Costa Rica: GSM 1800 only: I.C.E. - monopoly provider run by the state-owned telecommunications and public utilities agency I.C.E.
    French West Indies: GSM 900 only: Boeygues Telecom and Orange Caribe

    There are a number of others I may have left out but those can always be added.

    Hope this helps :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice