Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Why are Verizon phones going back to dual mode?

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by silverado, Sep 4, 2003.

  1. silverado

    silverado Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    My Phone:
    LG VX9900
    I noticed that a few of Verizon's current phones no longer have analog. Why are they removing this feature? I realize analog is an older technology but one of the reasons for choosing Verizon is because when your in nowheresland you can still get service.
     
  2. GoodmanR

    GoodmanR Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    My Phone:
    Moto v3 Razr
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular (Voice) + T-Mobile (Blackberry)
    Verizon is getting rid of phones supporting AMPS. the reasons are unclear and there has been much debate about the merits of doing so. i presonally think its rediculous and stupid to eliminate amps for no aparent reason. others, including those on here who work for verizon, disagree.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jayc

    jayc Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johnson City, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A670
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Once again I don't disagree because I work for verizon... I disagree because I have no need for analog, I've never been anywhere in my memorable life where I have used analog except in Carolina West territory which will soon be CDMA.
     
  4. zeeker

    zeeker Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8800
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile, Cingular
    My recent experience with Analog in FLA was <b>STATIC!!</B>. So fed up that even in NJ I have CDMA only.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. scottb

    scottb Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, U.S.A
    My Phone:
    Pixel 6 Pro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile, Visible
    I've been through several areas in southern VA, northern and eastern and central NC and the FL panhandle that are analog.
     
  6. DeathRider

    DeathRider Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    1
    My Phone:
    LG Dare
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I went with my brother's family "camping" in New Hampshire.

    Above I think it was mile marker 73 on I-93, digital cverage was spotty. Better than my brother's S105/TMo, but not by much. Didn't bring my 120c to see if analog would have been better. This is a once a year thing, so not worried about analog.
     
  7. GoodmanR

    GoodmanR Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    My Phone:
    Moto v3 Razr
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular (Voice) + T-Mobile (Blackberry)
    jayc,

    although you might not have a need for analog, you have to admit that some people do...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. lets456

    lets456 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought the most important thing about a wireless phone was making a connection !!!! I would rather have an analog connection than no connection at all !!! What happens if my car breaks down in the middle of nowhere. I will not care if the connection is analog or not, I just want a connection. I have gone through very few spot that were analog (with Verizon), but I had to place a few calls in those areas. I am sure it is purely "economics" why Verizon is doing this.
     
  9. njsvrzncdma

    njsvrzncdma i cant stop the ringing..
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    JeRsEy
    My Phone:
    LG vx8500
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VERIZON
    i have no need for amps either. I admit i was skeptical at first but after geting the vx6000 i see that i really have no need for it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. PADutchman

    PADutchman Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    The VZW people in my neck of the woods, basically are saying analog phase out within 2 yrs.
    Current remaining analog systems will become CDMA / digital.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. GoodmanR

    GoodmanR Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    My Phone:
    Moto v3 Razr
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular (Voice) + T-Mobile (Blackberry)
    Verizon should have 100% native digital coverage by the end of the year. The issue with coverage and AMPS phones is more of an off network issue though, and this is something Verizon has no control over. I would guess that most carriers who now only offer AMPS service should be on CDMA or GSM within two years, but that is an optimistic estimate. There are also many TDMA/AMPS networks which will go GSM and not CDMA,and this leaves some coverage gaps too..

    As for when analog itslef will be turned off, under FCC mandate AMPS systems will stay active until 2007 at least.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. NAHokie

    NAHokie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    My Phone:
    LG 6100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Those of us who don't live in larger metropolitan areas and either live in or travel in rural areas need to have the analog capability. Someday the whole country will become digital, but for now and for several more years there's a lot of this country that only has analog service.
     
  13. Airb330

    Airb330 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,544
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mt. Royal, NJ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    So what? WOW, verizon is 100% digital, big deal. Their network is not 100%. Say you are in a Verizon weak area (HELLO VERIZON, fix Newark DE!), and need to call 911 and there is no verizon or sprint. Oh, well I would be screwed. I think I'll keep analog until there is just better CDMA coverage. It isn't that rock solid IMO. In fact, I plan on moving to SPCS as soon as possbile. Everytime Verizon is dead, Sprint has a signal. Now, I just wish I could get out of my contract w/o a fee. I have had nothing but problems from Verizon from day 1. [​IMG]
     
  14. GoodmanR

    GoodmanR Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    My Phone:
    Moto v3 Razr
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular (Voice) + T-Mobile (Blackberry)
    my point wasnt that we didnt need analog, in fact my point was opposite that. read my post completely wihtout skipping parts and its pretty clear. no need to go off on someone for no reason.

    what i said is that verizon is basically all digital but that means nothing because all of their roaming partners are not all digital.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. bobolito

    bobolito Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    12,735
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    50
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    My Phone:
    iPhone SE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Well, if you need analog, simply don't buy those dual-mode phones. Either that, or keep the one you have and if you need a new phone, get one that has analog.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. GoodmanR

    GoodmanR Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    My Phone:
    Moto v3 Razr
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular (Voice) + T-Mobile (Blackberry)
    The problem is that within six or so months you ownt really be able to buy a AMPS enabled phone
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Airb330

    Airb330 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,544
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mt. Royal, NJ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I did read your post and I agree. I didn't mean to be sarcastic towards you in any way. I just feel everyone is praising Verizon all the time and I have had nothing but problems from them (mostly that "best network"). I just feel too many people may be depending on it alot, IMO it's a flaky network with these 1X phones (never had problems with my nokia or LG 510).
     
  18. GoodmanR

    GoodmanR Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    My Phone:
    Moto v3 Razr
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular (Voice) + T-Mobile (Blackberry)
    The problem is that not every single tower on the network is 1x. So when the phone loses 1x, they tend to re-register on the network.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. bobolito

    bobolito Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    12,735
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    50
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    My Phone:
    iPhone SE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    You can always get one from Ebay.....[​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. njsvrzncdma

    njsvrzncdma i cant stop the ringing..
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    JeRsEy
    My Phone:
    LG vx8500
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VERIZON
    i agree ebay is the way to go after that happens
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice