Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

What trimode phone has the best reception now that V262 isn't available?

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by TaeKwonDoughboy, Sep 22, 2006.

  1. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    What trimode phone has the best reception now that V262 isn't available?
     
  2. djjim

    djjim Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    555
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Phone:
    LG VX8370 Clout
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (Old:Alltel, Nextel, At&t, USCC, Cricket)
    W315...sorry dude...couldn't resist!:lmao:
     
  3. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    :)

    I like the looks of the W315 it just isn't working out as good for me as it is for you.

    I went back to alltel today and their systems were down! That make four trips to the Alltel store in four days (200 miles) and still out of luck. Hopefully they will have a refurbished V262 I can have tomorrow morning.

    I want the V262, unless someone else has a better suggestion, for the better reception and 300 hours battery life as opposed to the W315. For example the V262 battery lasts two full days with low/no signal 16 of those hours. the W315 lasted 15 hours with 6 hours of low/no signal. My Kyocera 7135 did better than that.

    I was thinking if they can't get me a V262 I would ask for a refund and have them reactivate my Kyocera and buy a V262 or V710 on eBay. Too bad the V710 battery life isn't as good as the V262.
     
  4. ndtoddman

    ndtoddman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Dakota
    My Phone:
    Many
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Alltel dealers can still source V262s from handset vendors other than Alltel.
     
  5. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    That's good to know. Thanks.
     
  6. Hatchetman41527

    Hatchetman41527 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Williamson,WV USA
    My Phone:
    Sanyo S1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Alltel
    I just bought a V710 off ebay and got an extended battery and door for it.

    My reception problems were solved (no more booster) and the extended battery lasts a full work day (14 hours or so).
     
  7. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Well they wouldn't give me a refurbished V262 because I accepted the W315 as a replacement on Wednesday. It didn't matter that they misrepresented the W315 as having 300 hours standby like the V262. I would have opted for the refurbished V262 if I had know the W315 standby time was not 300 hours.

    I asked for a refund and it sounded like I wasn't going to get it because it was more than 14 days since I upgraded to the V262. Then I remembered I only had the W315 for three days. They refunded my money and removed the two year commitment.

    I'm looking through eBay now for a V262. There are quite a few. Any advice?
     
  8. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    Don't some phones have to have the battery broken in, in order to achieve their spec'd battery life?

    Look at the V710 too, best tri-mode phone for reception ever put out by Alltel as of now, well within the last 3 years anyway not sure about before that. If you get the extended battery it should last as long as you want it to. Without the extended I think it is something like 240 hours standby, 225 minutes talk time on the old Alltel description page.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I think the old batteries were that way. The new ones don't have a memory, or at least they aren't supposed to.

    Thanks for the advice about the extended battery. That makes a lot of sense. The V710 sure looks more sturdy.
     
  10. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    Yeah I guess. Well good luck finding one of those two on eBay. I would sell you mine but I'm sure you can find one in better condition on eBay. It works great, but the outside is all scratched and nicked. I plan on upgrading to 815, I really don't use the analog anyway it's all digtal here. Plus we are supposed to be getting EVDO soon :browani:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    What is the deal with the SIM for the V710. Is that a requirement or an option?

    I see some new in box V710 but they don't have the SIM.
     
  12. Another Bob

    Another Bob New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    CDMA phones do not use sims cards. So they are not needed on CDMA carriers like like Alltel, Verizon and Sprint.
     
  13. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Thanks for the help.
     
  14. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I ordered a new V710 from eBay.

    Where is the best place to get an extended battery and battery cover? I see some pretty cheap prices but the picture has a 1000 mAh. I thought the extended battery was a 1400 mAh.
     
  15. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    Try to find an OEM Motorola battery, don't get the knock of or like OEM ones. Not sure about the mAh I'll check and repond again after i find out.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    That's an RUIM slot... removable user identity module. Basically, a SIM card for CDMA service. No US carrier has adopted it, but you can see the slot in some CDMA handsets.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    The battery in the w315 I'm using is a Motorola BT50, 3.7v Lithium Ion, SKU: SNN5771A, 850 MAh.

    There is an extended, 1400 MAh battery for the w315, also.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Thanks to all for your help. I should get the V710 in a few days. I think I will try it a few days with the standard battery and decide if I need to get the extended battery.
     
  20. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I received the phone this afternoon and called in for activation. There seem to be two issues.

    The signal level is very low compared to other Alltel phones in this location. The other phones have full signal when this one fluctuates between one bar and no service. I can barely make a call.

    The microphone doesn’t work well, if at all, at low signal. I was able to make a voice recording so I know the microphone works. I drove to another tower and was able to get between one and three bars of signal while the other Alltel phone had full signal. The microphone and speakerphone worked fine at two to three bars.

    The SIDs and PRL are the same as my other Alltel phones. Is there anything else I should do before calling the seller?
     
  21. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    This whole ordeal is going from bad to worse. The phone was listed as "Condition: New, Never Opened."

    The Axcess log shows software was installed January 2006 and uninstalled August 2006. The battery was in the phone and a car charger was in the box so it appears the box had been opened.
     
  22. budone

    budone Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar, MI
    My Phone:
    E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Is there lifetime minutes posted on the phone?????
     
  23. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    There were not any lifetime minutes other than mine. The data minutes were 2:35:20.
     
  24. royc

    royc Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ohio Valley
    My Phone:
    Motorola V262
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (Alltel)
    Some ebay dealers reset the lifetimers on used phones and do a cosmetic refurbishment. They advertise these as "new" but they most certainly are not new. I think your phone is defective. A V710 in good working condition should have a great signal and hold calls well in poor signal conditions. Contact the seller and let him know that you're not satisfied. You can dispute the purchase through PayPal (if that's how you paid) or through ebay.

    royc
     
  25. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I sent it back today. They are supposed to send me a new one. I asked them to confirm the one they will be sending is "Condition: New, Never Opened" as advertized but they haven't replied since. I am cautiously optimistic.

    Hopefully I won't have to dispute it. At least the option exists just in case.
     
  26. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    Yeah you've gotten a lemon phone. Hopefully the seller is able to get you a good one. Some eBay sellers are so ridiculous it amazes me.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  27. halltel

    halltel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phone:
    Motorola E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Have you considered the E815?

    As far as I know a lot of 3rd party vendors have cleared their stock of V262's (Ours have.) We have probably 20 left, if you absolutely HAD to have one I could talk to our owner and probably ship you one if you continue to have bad luck with your V710. (We're in Kansas so it wouldn't be too far to ship it.)
     
  28. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Halltel, thanks for the offer. I suspect I just got a lemon. I should get a replacement tomorrow. They confirmed it will be new and unopened. If it doesn't work out I'll see if they will give a refund without going through a dispute. If that happens I'll check with you and see if you have any left.

    Is the e815 trimode? I haven't seen anything that says it is.
     
  29. dolphin_crazed

    dolphin_crazed Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    My Phone:
    HTC Diamond
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel; Verizon Wireless
    The e815 is dual mode, it has no Analog capability. Hope this helps :)
     
  30. TaeKwonDoughboy

    TaeKwonDoughboy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    I thought I would receive the replacement V710 phone today. Instead I received a shipping confirmation that the shipped it today and it will arrive Monday. They received the defective phone Sunday. This is after paying for expedited shipping! I wonder what would have happened if I didn't?

    It better be "Condition: New, Never Opened" or there will be a dispute.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2021 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice