Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

WEST U.S. -- What does PCS mean?

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by alanbates54, Oct 15, 2012.

  1. alanbates54

    alanbates54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia California
    What does PCS mean? I've been going through a lot of work and expense trying to improve my cellphone reception in the rual area I live in. There is not a Sprint tower for quite a distance from here. I bought a cellphone booster kit like the one sold out of Best Buy, and after a lot of work erecting a extremely tall antenna mast and running 120 feet of low loss cable I have an improved signal, the only part of the original kit that is still being used is just the booster, I've had to change both antenna's and the cable, but I still need a better signal, so I found an industrial type booster used for office buildings and wharehouses on ebay, I got it for about $300.00 less than it sells for new, I was thinking this should send the signal through the roof, I hooked it up and I got nothing. So I did something I should have done from the start, I researched it. It's for an In-Building Wireless PCS SmartTech Amplifier (60-dB). It's 1850-1990 MHz, so it should work for Sprint. The only thing I can't seem to find any info on is what PCS stands for. I see it everywere, but what does it mean?
     
    #1 alanbates54, Oct 15, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2012
  2. alanbates54

    alanbates54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia California
    Re: Titleless

    Okay, I just found what it means in Wikipedia, PCS stands for "Personal Communications Service". But I still don't know if that is why it did not boost my signal. Is it just for systems like Metro PCS? I think there is a reason that it's specified on the unit, I just need to know for sure. It does no good to ask the manufacturer, they never answered the question I asked last month.
     
  3. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 25 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,050
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Max, iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Re: Titleless

    PCS originally referred to the 1900mhz band that was opened up for mobile service in the mid-90s. It was a digital band that allowed more features and option than existing analog bands used by the A/B cellular carriers at the time (on the 850mhz band). 1900mhz was digital from the start, whereas the 850mhz band wasn't in many cases. Sprint uses the 1900mhz band. Other than that, the PCS term is a relic of the past and plays no factor in whether your booster will work with your phone or not.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. alanbates54

    alanbates54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia California
    Re: Titleless

    Okay, thanks, then the problem is somewhere else, probably the outside antenna is the wrong type for this unit, I think it requires a Yagi style directional antenna, and I don't think a directional antenna will work here. I just could not imagine that it would make that much of a differnce.
     
  5. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    LG Volt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    If this is just for your house why don't you just get an Airvana? Sprint provides them for free if you complain and it will give you good signal inside your house.
     
  6. alanbates54

    alanbates54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia California
    I already checked into that, they won't work with satellite internet.
     
  7. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,392
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    If you climb on your roof where your antenna is located, how much signal is showing? In home amplifiers/repeaters only work well when they can receive a strong signal outside, and relay that signal inside. If the best you can get at the antenna is a weak signal, then all it has to relay inside is a weak signal. Specialized antennas and amplifiers can only do so much. How far are you from the site you are trying to connect to, and can you get a direct line-of-sight connection to it, or are there buildings, trees, hills, or other obstructions in the way?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. alanbates54

    alanbates54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia California
    No, there is no direct line of sight to the towers, it's blocked by the Sierra mountains, I have mountains and hills all around me. That's why I have to have a satellite dish for internet and another for television, now I'm attempting antenna's for my cell phone. I have had some limited success with the first one, I just figured a stronger amplifier would give me a better signal. But I guess it's not as simple as that.
     
  9. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,392
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Yeah, if you have a mountain in the line of sight, then your only hope is to get the antenna as high as possible. Its still not going to be great, you may get it better than it is now though.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. alanbates54

    alanbates54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia California
    This is why I don't think a directional antenna would work here, The antenna that originally came with the booster kit is a panel style directional antenna, and it proved to be almost useless, In order for a directional antenna to work you would need something to direct it at, so I switched to a omni directional antenna and I got much better results. I just don't understand why this new booster won't work with it.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice