Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

what does nextel roam on???

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Rollindown95, Jul 12, 2006.

  1. Rollindown95

    Rollindown95 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    im in PA but will be moving to SC shortly, and was wondering if nextel is pretty good of if they roam, im going with a national plan, but who would they roam with if im outta their coverage?

    and does it pop up on the screen of the phone when its roaming, and tell you who at the moment im roaming wit???
     
  2. josephd

    josephd Tomorrow is another day.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    MA.
    My Phone:
    White iPhone 5C 16GB
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Nextel technology is IDEN so they do not roam off of anyone,so unfortunately if you leave their footprint you are out of luck. This link may help you.Good luck:)
    http://nextelonline.nextel.com/NASA...=Personal_Wireless;Plans_Coverage&language=EN
     
  3. azcellphonejunkie

    azcellphonejunkie The Cell Phone Junkie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 3GS
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ATT, Verizon, Sprint |Prior: Alltel, Nextel
    The nextel coverage looks pretty decent in SC. Check out this coverage map:
    [​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    i would recommend that you switch over to Sprint because you wont get charged an ETF......and Sprint has a really good coverage area nationwide....just to get a better idea of what coverage im lookin at what city are you moving to???
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. bobolito

    bobolito Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    12,735
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    50
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    My Phone:
    iPhone SE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Not only that, but if you fall outside Sprint's coverage area you actually get to roam on other carriers like Alltel or Verizon. Much better than Nextel.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    yeah the only reason nextel is good is because it has the most applied wlkie-talkie service

    ...also nextels messaging service is unbelievably slow......it took a message 10 secs to send from my T-Mobile phone to my friensa Virgin Mobile phone....it takes my boost mobile phone (which uses nextel towers) 3 mins to send the message

    i like it but it needs a better coverage area

    also something just occured to me......why doesn't nextel have roaming agreements with Southern LINC and Telus? they both support iDEN services
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Nextel does roam on Telus in Canada. Nextel actually has pretty decent international roaming, where ever iDen is deployed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    yeah they have really good roaming in Canada but they have no roaming in the U.S. if they're not careful somebody might wonder if they are insane!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. agentHibby

    agentHibby Iowa Cellular Guru
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SID 150 or 1214
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6256i
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Where he is at that is correct.
    But there are providers that Nextel can roam on (there may be more).
    Airtel in Montana and South Dakota
    SouthernLinc in Georgia Alabama and Florida maybe other states.
    Extend America (these are the guys that are tiring to have cell sites on balloons 20+ miles in the sky).
     
  10. Blue_Fox

    Blue_Fox New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was the boost mobile message that took 3 mins a text msg or multi media msg? If it wasn’t a text then are they slow at all? Are messages consistently that slow regardless of signal strength or location?
    I’ve been looking into boost but I can’t have a significant delay in text msgs.
    Sorry for the cluster of questions :p
     
  11. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    it was a regular text message and it also happens with picture messages as well..........i even have had messages completely dropped.......one of my friends sent me a message and i didn't receive it for a week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Telekom

    Telekom Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5310, iPhone 3G[S]
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile US, Fido CA, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL
    Nextel iDEN doesn't roam on anything in the US. It roams on Mike in Canada.
     
  13. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    i thought it roamed on Telus in Canada and to add another question......i checked out the Telus website and it shows that Telus is CDMA!?!?!?!?!

    im confuzzled :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Telekom

    Telekom Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5310, iPhone 3G[S]
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile US, Fido CA, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL
    Nextel subscribers roam on the Mike service which was bought by Telus several years ago. Mike is an iDEN operator in Canada. Actually, there are several iDEN operators world-wide in such places as Mexico and Israel as well as a few other countries as well. There is no iDEN at all in Europe.
     
  15. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    ohh......cuz it says Telus Roaming on all of the International coverage maps for Canada and Mexico and the website said that Telus was CDMA.........does Nextel have roaming agreements with all of those other providers that provide service in those other places like Israel?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Telekom

    Telekom Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5310, iPhone 3G[S]
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile US, Fido CA, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL
    Some but not all.

    Telus main service is CDMA. Mike uses iDEN.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice