Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Viewing signal strength in dB

Discussion in 'APPLE iPhone, iPad Tablets and all iOS Devices' started by viewfly, Aug 30, 2015.

  1. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,002
    Likes Received:
    851
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    There was a good method to get to here, that disappeared somewhere around iPhone 5 iOS era.

    It appears that the common method, that never worked with iOS indeed now does.

    Many thanks to EvilKittyCupcake for this, over at iMore.

    And tapping the dB numbers switches back and forth to the dots.

    If you just enter the number sequence without the power button, you get a temporary screen that gives this.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    #1 viewfly, Aug 30, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2015
    JFB and budney like this.
  2. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    About time this got figured out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,002
    Likes Received:
    851
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    @budney. Agreed. I had it working up through 5S I think, then the method changed. This procedure may have been around for a while for iOS ( at least other comments suggest that),but I was unaware.

    This number sequence goes back to the old Nokia or Moto standards.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    This isn't working with iOS 9.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,002
    Likes Received:
    851
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    Rats!!!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    budney likes this.
  6. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,002
    Likes Received:
    851
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    I did this under iOS 8.x a couple of weeks ago.

    Just updated to iOS 9....and it was grandfathered in.

    So it's working for me. That is the dB numbers are there and I can tap back to the 5 dots.

    What was your situation?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    budney likes this.
  7. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I put my phone in dfu mode to flash it. I prefer to have my phones flashed, not upgraded.

    Good to here dBm survives the upgrade process.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,002
    Likes Received:
    851
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    So you did the upgrade to iOS 9 via the DFU (device firmware upgrade) method ( instead of the OTA firmware upgrade), and after that, the OP technique didn't work for you?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  9. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Correct!

    Update: I just tried again and it worked! I must have entered the number wrong.

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    #9 budney, Sep 20, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2015
    viewfly likes this.

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice