Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Verizon Wireless Internet

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by Maximum Signal, Aug 31, 2004.

1. Maximum Signal

Maximum Signal Senior Member

My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon , Sprint , Millenicom
    I just took the plunge and bought my Audiovox PC5220 card and signed up for National Cellular Service with Verizon . Just looking for input from other users on pros and cons and expieriences. I hit the road in a few days and will let people know if they want about my expieriences . I am a tour manager in the music industry so I will be testing this baby everywhere . Any hints or observations from current users would be greatly appreciated

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Bugwart

Bugwart Bronze Senior Member

My Phone:
    Samsung SCH i760,
    Wireless Provider(s):
    SKT, Verizon, China Mobile, EPlus
    Verizon has 1xRTT service in most places in the US. I have used it in many states: 16 in the past 18 months.

Speeds will very depending on the usage (voice and data) on the closest towers. Based on my experience, you can expect average speeds (down and up link) of 45 to 90 kbps. I got as low as 8 kbps at Hartsfield Airport (ATL) and above 145 kbps in on 101 in Monterey County.

You might want to set your email program so that it does not download large attachments. Do you really want to download someone's 4 MB movie while you are on the road?

There are places without 1xRTT service (like most of Arkansas). You can use Q2N service in these places, however the maximum speed will be 14.4 kbps.

I hope that this helps.

3. Maximum Signal

My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Wireless Provider(s):