Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Verizon Roaming

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless Forum' started by rytard, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. rytard

    rytard Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Forest City
    My Phone:
    LG VX8550 Chocolate (Red)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Will a Verizon phone roam on sprint?
     
  2. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    I believe they will yes. But quite a few markets have sprint's SID neg'd in the PRL....someone correct me if I am wrong...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. QLR

    QLR RIP Note!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,003
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    47
    Likes Received:
    625
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy S8+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, AT&T based Tracfone, T-Mobile
    That's right... usually, in the big cities (like Atlanta or New York), Verizon blocks Sprint roaming. In Florida, I have roamed on Sprint with no problem... probably because Verizon only uses PCS frequencies here.

    On the other hand, SPRINT can roam on Verizon wherever service is available.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Like others have said, it depends on where you are on whether or not Verizon allows roaming on Sprint. What market are you interested in?
     
  5. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    The following Sprint SID's are allowed for Verizon users to roam on:


    4500 Alaska
    4145 (NID 00000) CA/NV/AZ
    4162 (NID 00150) NY-NJ-PA-CT-VT
    4148 Louisville, KY-IL-IN
    4174 Portland, OR-WA-CA
    4186 Seattle, WA
    4188 Spokane, WA-OR-ID-MT-WY
    4164 Oklahoma City, OK
    4181 San Antonio, TX
    4144 Little Rock, AR-OK
    4103 Birmingham, AL-TN
    4159 New Orleans, LA-MS-AL-FL

    4812

    BTA049D Blytheville, AR
    BTA094D Columbus-Starkville, MS
    BTA120D Dyersburg-Union City, TN
    BTA175D Greenville-Greenwood, MS
    BTA210D Jackson, MS
    BTA211D Jackson, TN
    BTA211E Jackson, TN
    BTA290B Memphis, TN
    BTA290D Memphis, TN
    BTA292E Meridian, MS
    BTA315D Natchez, MS
    BTA449D Tupelo-Corinth, MS
    BTA455D Vicksburg, MS

    04654 PCS FRM Sprint PCS
    SCAN 325D 350D 375D 725E 750E 775E 825F 850F 875F
    MTA037D Jacksonville, FL-GA
    BTA159A Gainesville, FL
    BTA212A Jacksonville, FL
    BTA439A Tallahassee, FL

    05116 PCS FRM Sprint PCS
    SCAN 325D 350D 375D 725E 750E 775E 825F 850F 875F
    MTA013D Tampa, FL
    BTA107A Daytona Beach, FL
    BTA239C Lakeland-Winter Haven, FL
    BTA289C Melbourne-Titusville, FL
    BTA336A Orlando, FL
    BTA336C Orlando, FL
    BTA408A Sarasota-Bradenton, FL
    BTA440A Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL
     
  6. rytard

    rytard Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Forest City
    My Phone:
    LG VX8550 Chocolate (Red)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    i was just wondering because i have never roamed on sprint although i have dialed *22805 and it foroced it to sprint but not extended network it was roaming
     
  7. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    If it was "roaming" then Sprint is not a roaming partner in your area. Depending on where you are located, another carrier may be a roaming partner, so if you dial *228xx you may find an "Extended Network" anyways.
     
  8. ansky

    ansky Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I don't think that's true anymore. I think Verizon has been cutting back on that. If it was true then why wouldn't everyone who has Verizon just sign up for Sprint?
     
  9. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Actually Sprint has not taken away any roaming at all in their PRL updates. Sprint has a least ONE roaming partner per market, often even more than one, which does not hold true for Verizon. I'm not sure there are any areas where Verizon's network is NEG"d for Sprint users.
     
  10. rytard

    rytard Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Forest City
    My Phone:
    LG VX8550 Chocolate (Red)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    why do they do that why no just partener with all CDMA everywhere it seems like that would be simpler
     
  11. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Every minute that you use off your home network costs your carrier money and carriers are not willing to spent more money and give it to their competitors than they really have to, hence you will see most carriers limiting roaming, especially within their own natively covered service areas.

    In the past, where YOU, the user, paid $.69 for each minute you roamed off network (and the carriers probably still made money off that) roaming was allowed almost anywhere. ;) Interesting how things change.
     
  12. rytard

    rytard Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Forest City
    My Phone:
    LG VX8550 Chocolate (Red)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    oh ok.............
     
  13. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Verizon has neg'd Sprint's Charlotte SID 4376 which covers all of NC & SC as well as Northeast GA.

    I have the same problem with Alltel outside of Upstate SC, WNC, Northeast GA.
    (In Rutherford County, NC, I can't use Sprint either because it uses Charlotte's NID 110, which is neg'd for Alltel)

    So I'm limited to only Verizon & USCC when I'm at Lake Lure (No native Alltel).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #13 KyleAndMelissa22, Aug 19, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2007
  14. JasonWells

    JasonWells Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    My Phone:
    AT&T i phone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T, VZW
    On many driving vacations with friends that use VZW, we have come into several areas where their VZW phones have 'no service', but my former Alltel phone would be operating fine, usually on Sprint or even AT&T's analog. It is amazing how often 'america's best cell service' (as VZW tells us they are) was not the best! I was also able to start conversing for free at 7pm, when they had to wait till 9. It was interesting watching VZW customers of 'america's best cell provider' having to use a friends Alltel phone to communicate. I have seen many instances where VZW must have SID's on the NEG list in their PRL.

    Perhaps, VZW isn't as concerned about their customers as say Sprint or others, if they aren't willing to allow some roaming in fringe areas. Yet VZW charges as if they offer the best. These have been my observations.
     
  15. JasonWells

    JasonWells Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    My Phone:
    AT&T i phone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T, VZW
    A Qwest rep said they pay Sprint $.02/min for using their service. Does anyone know what other companies have to pay to roam on various other networks? I have always been curious to know.
     
  16. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    So you are saying that is all of them in the country?
     
  17. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Well I can guarentee other networks will charge as well. If someone on Tmobile gets on ATT ATT will charge Tmobile.
     
  18. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Those are all the SIDs that a Verizon phone is allowed to roam on Sprint in the entire country. When America's Choice first started, ALL Sprint SIDs were allowed for Verizon users to roam on...now, there are few left.
     
  19. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    That, I would say, would be a really sweet roaming agreement and I would take whatever a normal rep tells you with a grain of salt, Jason.
     
  20. JasonWells

    JasonWells Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    My Phone:
    AT&T i phone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T, VZW
    Andy-
    Yes, I understand. At $.02/min for a $60/month plan, they could allow 3000 minutes. Of course that doesn't include other expenses incurred by the original carrier-lol. I kind of took what the rep said with a grain of salt, but it was a Qwest Wireless rep. I suppose they worked a sweet deal with Sprint, as they just resell on their network-lol.

    I was just curious if anyone knew a rough figure that carriers may have to pay per minute for allowing customers to use other networks.
     
  21. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    and this means that Sprint can offer forced roaming on their phones without going into setup menues and changing the NAMs
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    It is true still. One of my phones is always set to roaming only. 99% of minutes on one of my lines is roaming off Verizon. Many areas in Vermont have better Verizon coverage so I just force roam in order to have more reliable coverage. Even if I have Sprint coverage I will often use the forced roam. The only other CDMA carrier in the state is US Cellular but they are in southern VT so I don't roam on them much.

    The reason Verizon customers don't sign up for Sprint is beyond me. Sprint doesn't really advertise the fact that their network is really like Sprint plus all the Verizon sites. (and US Cellular, Alltel, and some regional networks) Most people don't realize it either. Come to think of it, Verizon advertises a lot more in general so I think everyone just assumes they are the best because they hear it all the time. Sure they may have a larger coverage area, but I use the Verizon network at no extra charge. To have a my plan with Verizon would cost me $15 more each month. For that I would get 3 crippled phones with a UI that I hate. Sure Verizon is great and they are improving their coverage in my area which is also great. I will have better roaming coverage.

    I like Sprint and I will be the first to admit that they don't make much money off me because I take advantage of the forever roaming. Roaming is in my plan and the roaming coverage is better than native Sprint. Sprint is almost paying to have me as a customer. At least I have only called Customer Care twice in the past few years.
     
  23. Underwriter

    Underwriter Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    My Phone:
    Motorola T730
    "......The reason Verizon customers don't sign up for Sprint is beyond me. Sprint doesn't really advertise the fact that their network is really like Sprint plus all the Verizon sites....."

    Your statement is not true in TN. Verizon is King in TN for the rural areas, but Sprint customers cannot even get a signal in many rural areas. I have been in many rural areas with Sprint customers and their phone were dead; yet my Verizon tri-frequency phone worked fine. Yes, Analog is still in some areas!
     
  24. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    i know you prolli here this question a lot and i just forget but what is the "deadline" for analog and TDMA turn off?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    I was hearing that analog must be kept up until Feb 18 2008. I am not positive on the date, but I heard that from a few sources. After that date, carriers can decide what they want to do about their analog networks. Someone please correct me if I am wrong about any of this.

    AT&T has already shut down a few areas of their TDMA network. The remaining TDMA network will disappear in 2008.

    For the most part, carriers are anxious to get rid of the aging technology. It costs money to keep up the networks that hardly anyone is using.
     
  26. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    Very interesting. I wonder if your friends on Sprint had their phone on 'Sprint Only' One of my phones will be set to 'Sprint Only' when I turn it on. Check and make sure that is not the problem. That is the most logical reason for their inability to roam on Verizon. An ancient PRL might also be to blame. I would make sure the phone is set to 'Roam Only' or 'Automatic' Have them get into the menu then go to settings then roaming.
     
  27. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    That stinks like moldy cheese
     
  28. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    well the convenient thing for Sprint is instead of keeping up their own towers in certain areas they can just pay Verizon to let Sprint customers to use their towers.........i mean Sprint already has enough towers to worry about what with Sprint and Nextel together
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  29. BillRadio

    BillRadio Wireless Consultant
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Denver
    My Phone:
    Motorola
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, T-Mobile, AT&T, Sprint
    Roaming charges among carriers varies from .00 to .30/minute. Small carriers I deal with get many calls from the big operators asking for lower roaming fees. The incentive for this is that the fees are reciprocal, but the larger carrier always benefits. Alltel & Verizon had a very good rate between each other for many years, but Alltel & Sprint recently agreed on an even better deal. That means if you signed up with Sprint hoping for roaming service from Verizon, your chances are less likely today. However, Alltel is an excellent carrier.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    i've heard as much about Alltel and ive noticed that my phone isnt doing any EV-DO roaming on VZW even though i thought Sprint had that agreement running by now
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice