Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Veriizon ph alltel service/ Using Verizon towers

Discussion in 'Southern US Wireless Forum' started by terryw35, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. terryw35

    terryw35 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    I have Alltel service, I live in East TX and use Verizion towers. Alltel has none around here. I broke my Alltel Phone and am trying to use a Verizion VX855orlk Chocolate phone.

    I changed The PH number, Min # and sid but it doesn't work.

    Is there anything I can do.

    Alltel coverage is very bad out here but I still have 5 months under contract.

    Thanks in advance.

    Terry
     
  2. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    You can try calling Alltel and see if they will let you activate the Verizon phone. I don't think you are going to get anywhere though.

    I would suggest you just get a new Alltel phone and stay with them. With Alltel you should have free roaming off Verizon and Alltel is cheaper. Also you don't have Verizon's crippled phones and frusterating UI.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. Eric47

    Eric47 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    in my own house
    My Phone:
    crackberry's
    does Alltel do the roaming thing like other CDMA carriers where if your roaming it uses your anytime minutes?
     
  4. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Yesterday I tried to activate a Verizon phone on the Alltel System for my brother (Audiovox 8900).

    Alltel said that they can not activate it because,
    1, it's a Verizon phone, and,
    2, Verizon phones have special programming & UI's that tie them to the Verizon system

    Even though they use the same technology (CDMA),

    There are two label tags (for roaming purposes) on the phone I tried to activate:
    Not roaming: Verizon Wireless
    Roaming: Extended Network

    Nothing can be done (AFAIK) to make these phones work on Alltel (for Alltel customers),
    unless your tech savy and physically try to break into the phone, which I found somewhat impossible.
    It's like verizon gives you a phone with a menu & an UI that is locked and cannot be changed, or overridden.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    On a CDMA system all ESNs have to be activated on the carriers network. Simply programming the old information to the new phone won't make it work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. terryw35

    terryw35 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    Thanks for the reply's, is there any way to do that. Alltel walked me through what I have done so far.

    Alltel out here is very bad. I loose siignal everywhere. Verizion works fine though.
     
  7. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    Do your plan not allow roaming or were you using an ancient PRL? Alltel will roam off other carriers if native Alltel coverage in unavailable. Verizon is one of their roaming partners.
     
  8. terryw35

    terryw35 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    Yes it does allow it, I don't get charged either. No Alltel towers around where I live now. I got the service when I lived in GA.
     
  9. djjim

    djjim Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    555
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Phone:
    LG VX8370 Clout
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (Old:Alltel, Nextel, At&t, USCC, Cricket)
    How do you now you are even in an Alltel native area? How do you know you are roaming on Verizon? I find it hard to believe that Verizon has a better network in TX than Alltel. Something does not sound right.
     
  10. MasterC

    MasterC Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Iphone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Thats exactly what I have been wondering. And to answer the other guys question, no, you do not get charged to roam on alltel and it does not take your anytime minutes either.
     
  11. terryw35

    terryw35 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    When I dial 611 on my Alltel phone it goes to Verizion. Alltel has also told me over the phone that is what I use here. I have had to mail the phone back twice in the past year and a 1/2 because of an over the air update so it would work again.
     
  12. MasterC

    MasterC Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Iphone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Your best bet would be to get a new phone my friend. If you have been messing with that for over a year, just get a new one. No need to hassle with it.
     
  13. djjim

    djjim Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    555
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Phone:
    LG VX8370 Clout
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (Old:Alltel, Nextel, At&t, USCC, Cricket)
    You are not in an Alltel served area. It is not that Alltel has a crummy network there, it's that they have no network there. You are roaming on most likely Verizon. If you switch to Verizon, you will get identical service. If you have to mail your phone in to get an update, then you are not in an Alltel served area. As far as the 611 thing, that is weird. I always get Alltel when dialing 611 no matter where I am or who I am roaming on. Strange. RE: The original question. Yes, you should be able to get a Chocolate on the Alltel network. Just tell Alltel it is a LG AX8600.
     
  14. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    If you give Alltel the ESN nuber to add to your account. Then change the sid and min and mdn to what your old phone had. It should work fine for voice and basic sms. Even with a Verizon PRL.

    Make sure you change both mdn and min. Then call alltel to add the esn. Then try and make a test call. If it is successful then try a prl update. *228 option 2. You could also just try to use the VZW sid as home SID.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice