Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

v710 as Modem - What Speed??

Discussion in 'MOTOROLA' started by jfxf, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. jfxf

    jfxf Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philthydelphia
    My Phone:
    v710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, was Cingular for too long
    To anyone using the v710 as a modem, what kinds of speeds are you getting and does the brand of cable matter?
    Thanks.
     
  2. john6six

    john6six Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Using BT, I am getting 129K. I have read other getting up to 144K. Not bad for what it is.
     
  3. jfxf

    jfxf Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philthydelphia
    My Phone:
    v710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, was Cingular for too long
    Which Bluetooth product are you using John6six?
     
  4. firsteggprez

    firsteggprez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    My PowerBook says im getting 240 kbs over bluetooth. :D
     
  5. john6six

    john6six Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I am using a D-Link BT adapter.
    240k, guess i need to play around with some things.
     
  6. Cetrian

    Cetrian Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    My Phone:
    Motorola V710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    great information, guys. Thank you.

    Can someone tell me if you have to pay extra for this service? I subscribe to the mobile web service, but I think that has only to do with the WAP browser on the phone. Could someone spend the time to detail the steps necesary to make the modem connection?

    Thanks! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. benoda

    benoda New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Californ-eye-aye
    My Phone:
    v710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I have mine working as a BT modem with my powerbook, but my speeds are around 56k..... is there anything special y'all did to get the higher speeds?

    I just setup the v710 as a BT modem using the generic motorola script.
     
  8. theattack

    theattack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    ive been trying to use my v710 as a modem with my clie ux-50. it dials but ends call after 21 seconds and the clei says "error: authentication failure (ox1233)". can anyone tell me the problem or what i should do?
     
  9. john6six

    john6six Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Search these forums, there are several posts regarding usng the modem to connect. As well as threads regarding configuring your phone for free WAP. Both will only cost you minutes from your plan.
     
  10. theattack

    theattack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    i figured it out. its actually really easy using the mynumber@vzw3g. the speed it pretty decent
     
  11. Z28kid

    Z28kid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    what equipment do you need to use as a modem?

    THanks
     
  12. john6six

    john6six Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    A Bt adapter for the computer\laptop. That's it. Or you can use a cable to connect your phone to the computer.
     
  13. jfxf

    jfxf Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philthydelphia
    My Phone:
    v710
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, was Cingular for too long

    johnsix and everyone else:
    are you getting the same speeds from BT AND cable?
     
  14. Z28kid

    Z28kid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    where can i pick up a BT adapter?

    how much do they go for?
     
  15. firsteggprez

    firsteggprez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, California
  16. john6six

    john6six Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I haven't tested my speed with a cable, but it seems the same as BT to me.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice