Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Using phone as modem V3a

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by aca20031, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. aca20031

    aca20031 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Hi, I'm in the middle of no where and have lovely dial up service, and was looking at using my Motorola MOTORAZR V3a as my desktop modem, however I'm told by the alltel store rep that Motorola screwed up with this phone in that area, and that the connection is slower than dial up. I know it only uses 1x instead of EV-DO but I was hoping it would be an upgrade

    Anyway, does anyone have any more information on this?
     
  2. bikebryan

    bikebryan Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Northeast Kansas
    1X can get you speeds slightly faster than dial up, but it could be slower - just like EVDO can get you speeds similiar to broadband but can be slower.
     
  3. aca20031

    aca20031 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    But is there a known issue with the phone that could cause this to be slower regardless?
    And what are my chances of good internet speeds with 1x when my phone gets 3-4 bars
     
  4. bikebryan

    bikebryan Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Northeast Kansas
    1. No

    2. It's not necessarily the signal strength. There are many factors to consider.
     
  5. damog

    damog New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    1x is roughly x2 (current dial up 56.6)

    how ever QDN? is max transfer rate of 14.4 which is origional phone speeds without compresion algorithoms and the thretical max of stander phone lines

    so
    EV = EVDO is great,
    1x = 1x is ok, (2 time dial-up)
    [D] = qns or whatever (unless your viewing text only web pages this is really slow by modern standards more of a backup)

    also consider it is a wireless data network and has speed loss simalre to wi-fi farther distance = less speed / low signal = more noise interferance in the line

    (i know, i know, no noise in frequency modulated signals :p i mean overall quality of the signal)


    i belive the thertical max of EV is 3MB/s my cable modem is 2MB/s
     
  6. bandit390

    bandit390 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    My Phone:
    Blackberry Storm
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Its around that for rev A, .....Rev 0 is around 2.4MB


    v3a.....alltel should be given 50 lashes in public for releasing it. But thats in the past.

    You should be able to find plenty of used v3m's for under $100 or get another EV capable phone. Of course you always have the data card route.
     
  7. MrObvious

    MrObvious Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    I just can't see spending 60 bucks a month for data card usage. :\
     
  8. shango

    shango Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Death Valley
    My Phone:
    M800, v266, w315
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    Alltel is adding EV fairly fast and the Sprint EV prl should be coming fairly soon. Hang on, you may just get EV soon....
     
  9. MrObvious

    MrObvious Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    Nope because the V3a doesn't support EVDO.
     
  10. 4tilleys

    4tilleys New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    My Phone:
    RAZR V3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    signal does matter when using your phone as a modem. I use my V3m as a modem, and even though it is EV, if my signal strength is low, my speed is slow. :)
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice