Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Use the $25 tethered internet plan on Prepaid?

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by WireNone, Jun 15, 2008.

1. WireNone

WireNone New Member

Hello I am new to wireless internet and the forum. I am glad I found you guys as this site has a lot of helpful info!

My plan is to somehow establish "unlimited broadband wireless internet". I just don't want to commit to getting an expensive data card or a data plan. I have been reading about tethering and would like to give that a try.

Here is what I am thinking of doing:

1) Buy the Samsung Hue r500 because it supports EVDO (right?).

2) I don't have much need for a calling plan (nor a contract) and so I want to activate the phone on the "Minute by Minute" prepaid plan.

...here is where I get confused

3) I want to use a "tethering" plan on my prepaid phone. Is that possible? Will it cost $25 per month and how will they
    bill me for that if my phone is prepaid? Is it required to have a monthly billed plan on contract for the tethering plan?

4) Data cables for the Hue seem to be few and far between. Any recommendations on where to get them from that also includes the software disc with drivers?

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. MrObvious

MrObvious Senior Member

Ok lemme answer this one. I will need Brian's support on one thing I'm not sure about since he works in Customer Service.

A) The HUE is a good phone. Great choice.
    B) You can download the software from software.alltel.com for free.
    C) You can buy a cable anywhere online. However a V3M if you can find one or a KRZR or ROKR might be a better option since mini-USB cables are more plentiful.
    D) I would advise AGAINST prepaid. eww.