Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Use Of Pda W/o Connection To Wireless Phone Co

Discussion in 'Other Smartphones and Mobile Operating Systems' started by vdh123, Dec 2, 2006.

  1. vdh123

    vdh123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago
    Can I use a phone/pda, just the pda features w/o a phone connection?
     
  2. vdh123

    vdh123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago
    I want a PDA with a keyboard, but only the phone/pda's have them. Am I goofy to buy a phone/pda just to use it as a pda? Is this possible with an unlocked phone? I imagine the software works whether the phone is connected or not. Thanks in advance for your help
     
  3. COtech

    COtech Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    My Phone:
    Sam. Galaxy SII Skyrocket
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility
    vdh123,

    Yes, the PDA part works fine without a phone connection. I used a T-Mobile locked Handspring Treo 180 in that fashion for two years (I couldn't get it unlocked for my Cingular SIM). I rotated among my other phones, but always had the 180.

    I switched to the Treo 600, and it takes my SIM. I don't rotate phones anymore.

    COtech
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,899
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Welcome to WA. I wouldn't quite say goofy, it is quit an interesting idea actually. Yes it will work, I used my QTEK as PDA only on flights. As Cotech mentioned you don't even need unlocked if you are not going to use the phone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. nKrypteD1

    nKrypteD1 Software Architect
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,606
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    My Phone:
    Motorola Droid X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    You could also go to Tmobile and get a data plan only, depending on what you want, I can honestly say this, if you get nothing but the phone you have to purchase at full retail (no subsidy) and that adds between 100 to 200 dollars to the price. Personally if you're gonna do this I recommend either a HTC TyTN (unlocked with the front facing camera comes for about 700) or the HTC Excaliber (aka Tmobile Dash.)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,392
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Yes. I commonly use my HP iPAQ 6515 without any SIM card in it. I just put the phone in airplane mode so the battery lasts longer when I'm not using it as a phone. Many times I will keep my SIM card in another phone, and use the iPAQ just for its GPS navigation and internet via WiFi.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. nKrypteD1

    nKrypteD1 Software Architect
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,606
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    My Phone:
    Motorola Droid X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    To add to this, if you purchase a sim card (GSM PDA's) for the phones native provider, prepay or other, you wont get a SIM Missing notification everytime you boot the pda.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice