Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

US / CANADA PLAN and PHONE SWITCHING

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Guest, May 18, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

I'm a college student- in school in USA for 8 months, at home in Canada for 4. I can buy a Samsung SCH-T300 phone (any tips/comments/warnings?) in Canada for an incredibly low price, and get a plan in Canada for 4 months.

Verizon uses this phone as well.

=> Is it possible to switch the phone from Telus (Canada) to Verizon?

I'm thinking of getting two accounts: one in Canada, and one in the USA. When I'm using one, I'll put the other on vacation, and vice versa. While on 'vacation,' can I use the other account? Would I be able to program this into the cell phone myself or anything? (i.e. the various ID's).

When I spoke to a Verizon customer care representative, I was told that using the handset under a different company while on vacation was 'not possible' because of some serial number registration or something? Can anyone clarify? I'm willing to program my phone - if that's possible. Haha, maybe I can just go back to a Telus/Verizon dealer after being on vacation and saying that my phone 'doesn't work' and get them to reprogram it...

2. KevinJames

KevinJames WA's 1st retired mod

My Phone:
    Samsung S7-Edge
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T & Verizon
    Backing up even one more step from the Verizon rep, I am completely unaware of any "vacation" condition for wireless plans. Verizon in the USA has only two ways to do business: PrePay and Plan.

If you chose a plan, they expect you to remain a subscriber continuously, through 12 to 24 contiguous months. Just because you are out of the country is inconsequential to them.