Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Updating phone software?

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless Forum' started by dennykyser, Aug 24, 2006.

  1. dennykyser

    dennykyser New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warren, Pa
    How do you upgrade the phone software with verizon? I have the Moto E815 phone if that makes a differance.
     
  2. ian1001

    ian1001 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jacksonville florida
    My Phone:
    moto razr v3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    verizon wireless
    dial *228 and select option 2:)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dennykyser

    dennykyser New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warren, Pa
    Thanks a lot
     
  4. phreddie

    phreddie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    *228 does NOT upgrade the software. It will update the PRL (Preferred Roaming List) or activate a new phone, but it does NOT upgrade the software on the phone. To do that, you have to go to a Verizon store and ask if there is a more recent version than what you have. It should be free, however.
     
  5. macsesso

    macsesso Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NY
    My Phone:
    Blackberry Storm 9550
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizonwireless
    It's a little more complicated than that. If you are talking about the actual software on your phone, usually called firmware, which controls the features, this must be done at a Verizon store. *228 will only update your PRL which determines your roaming capabilities. It is not a firmware upgrade.

    To the original poster. If the firmware on your 815 has the letter E in it then it is the latest.
     
  6. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    then why does *228 give you 2 options when you call...........

    1)to update your phones software
    2)to update your phones roaming capabilities
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. macsesso

    macsesso Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NY
    My Phone:
    Blackberry Storm 9550
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizonwireless
    Option 1 is to program your phone with the correct number, SID etc and PRL. It will not change anything with the actual firmware on the phone. That has to be done at a verizon store.
     
  8. Alex37

    Alex37 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South
    My Phone:
    Motorola V3M
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    So if you use *228 it wont effect any seem edits you have done to your phone?
     
  9. rwsrichard

    rwsrichard Guest



    The ONLY way to upgrade your software is to take it a VZW store and let them. Be aware that most VZW stores want you to leave the phone for most of the day.

    *228 has NO effect on the SEEM edits.
     
  10. coolcsi

    coolcsi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    My Phone:
    Motorola W755
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    Why doesn't VZW allow us to update software over the phones?
     
  11. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    because it's network traffic that they dont want to let you have cuz technically if they let you update over the air they would have to give you the data usage for free
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. littlepriest01

    littlepriest01 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, VA
    If it's a phone that comes with a usb cable you can usually upgrade yourself using software from the VZW website, otherwise you have to take it into the store (a corporate store not a kiosk).
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice