Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Unlocked phones on T-Mobile network

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by gilly001, Mar 31, 2006.

1. gilly001

gilly001 New Member

My Phone:
    T-Mobile Sidekick 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Hi I'm a newbie and I thought I might and get some feedback.:O I'm considering making the leap and purchasing an unlocked phone, most likely the Motorola SLVR. Unfortunately T-Mobile does not offer that (but T-Mobile UK does, go figure...):loony: only Cingular does. Right now I would prefer not to switch to Cingular. I'm out of contract and I like it that way. Also the plan on Cingular that is comparable to T-Mobile would be about $10 more a month. I was just wondering if there is anyone here that has some feedback on using an unlocked phone on the T-Mobile network. Was it the right choice to make, were there any drawbacks, are you unlocked all the time, is it better/worse than being on a locked phone etc... I thank you for your help.:)

2. MOTOhooligan

MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict

Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    A Nokia 6010 to a Motorola L7 SLVR? That's quite an upgrade!

I'm using an unlocked Motorola v620 and I love it! You have to manually program the web and MMS settings into the phone to use T-Zones and MMS, but other than that everything is on your SIM card.

One of the only drawbacks I've found to using an unlocked/unbranded phone is that T-Mobile won't support phones that aren't in their lineup. This means that if you have a problem with the phone, they won't help.