Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Unlocked handset question.

Discussion in 'T-Mobile Forum' started by vcmike, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. vcmike

    vcmike New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia County, NM
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6101
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Hi:
    First off, I have T-Mobile service, and if I go to the eastern part of New Mexico T-Mo is partnered with Plateau (850Mhz).
    If I were to buy an 'unlocked' handset that was originally branded for AT&T or some other GSM service what functions would I lose?
    Thanks, Mike
     
  2. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Hi Mike, You will not loose anything but you will have to configure the phone for MMS & T-Zones using the Configurator posted in this thread - http://forums.wirelessadvisor.com/t-mobile-users/59266-t-mobile-device-configurator.html

    Your SMS & Voice will work as soon as you put your TM SIM in. Keep in mind your phone will still boot up with the original branded logo and all the other branding associated with it will remain on the phone. This does not matter to most people but if it does to you, there are ways to "unbrand" most phones.

    Hope this helps. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. vcmike

    vcmike New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia County, NM
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6101
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Charlyee:
    Thanks for the info, that's been kind of a nagging question for a long time. I just never had enough reason to quit procrastinating & ask.
    Mike
     
  4. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    actually only voice will work.........you have to enter in the service box number for text messaging and the voicemail access number and then data and MMS settings.............you better hope that those settings arent locked by AT&T......

    does unlocking a phone for use on other carriers unlock the features that the original carrier shut off?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. vcmike

    vcmike New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia County, NM
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6101
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I just placed the winning bid on a 6030 on E-Bay & the handset is locked to T-Mo so I guess it's a rhetorical question, but thanks to all anyway. The way I fool around with handsets this information is sure to come in handy 'down the road a piece';).
    Thanks again,
    Mike
     
  6. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,905
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,579
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Possible, I never had to on any branded or unbranded unlocked phone.
    Mike, glad everything worked out for you, good luck with your 6030. Also for future reference, you can get the settings for all Nokia Models from their website. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    yeah cuz sometimes they might be OTAd to your phone
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice