Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Unicel GSM Service

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by RobbyVT, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. RobbyVT

    RobbyVT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Hello, I recently upgraded my service with Unicel for their new GSM service. I didn't like the top line Motorola phone they had so when I was in Europe I bought a Motorola v550. I put my Unicel SIM in there and it is bringing up USA-890 AS the carrier. Does anyone know why or how I can correct this? I went into Unicel and of course they don't really want to help since they just launched it. I had to buy one of their phones to get the SIM card, and from what I understand from reading on the net is that all of the information about their service in on the SIM card.... is that correct or can they actually setup my phone but don't want to????????? Any help would be greatly appriciated. Thanks :biggrin:
     
  2. EdwardP

    EdwardP Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,170
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    My Phone:
    Android
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile (Deutsche Telekom)
    Hi Robby,

    :welcome: to Wireless Advisor!

    Have a look at cellguru.net's Unicel page, according to the network code, it would appear that the 890 you're seeing is indicative of your being on the Unicel system.

    Since you bought the phone in Europe, I'm guessing that the electronics are geared towards the networks over there, and that Eurpoean GSM phones, when roaming in the U.S. will display USA with the network code, instead of the actual carrier's name.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dmarkson

    dmarkson New England Wireless Guru
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern NH
    My Phone:
    9530, v3xx
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, AT&T, TMO, USC, BOOST, VIRG, PP
    USA-890 *IS* Unicel, so, other than the display, everything should work fine.
    Looks like the V550 is a quad-band phone so you should be ok.

    The network string could come from the SIM, the phone or the network. The phone must override everything else in this case.

    How is Unicel in Burlington?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice