Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Two phones

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless Forum' started by cutback, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. cutback

    cutback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fish Lake Valley, NV
    My Phone:
    Moto Q
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I recently upgraded to the Moto Q from the v710. I am loving the Q more and more. However, my v710 is still active. Is this possible? In other words, can I continue to have the 710 active? It would be great because it is tri-mode and I often have to go into analog areas where the Q is all digital.
     
  2. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    It may look as if your V710 is still active, but in reality this is not the case. Your number has been moved to the Q in Verizon's system. If you tried to make a call on the V710, you would get an error message.

    Your V710 will still have your moved number still programmed into it, but this is in appearance only. If for some reason your V710 really is working, you are a victim of a serious glitch. If this is the case, give Verizon a call and have them fix it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cutback

    cutback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fish Lake Valley, NV
    My Phone:
    Moto Q
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    I haven't tried to make a call, but it showed I had voicemail.

    But what if I want it this way? Is it a problem?
     
  4. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    This is not unusual. You may have gotten the voicemail around the same time they changed the phones. I have seen this happen before. Try to make a call and see what happens.

    It may create problems if you text message, use Get It Now, download the latest PRL update, etc. Otherwise it's up to you, just keep in mind that the same number on two active phones is not how cell service works, glitches do occur now and then, but I doubt this is the case. Like I suggested before, do a test call on the V710. This will answer your question.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice