Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Touch "vs" Curve question.

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by Buckwheet, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. Buckwheet

    Buckwheet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I have made the decision to make the jump to a smartphone. I have been looking at the BB Curve. I see that the Touch Diamond is coming out soon. I would use the phone for voice calls, (in spotty reception areas) and for web surfing. The one thing that is very high on my list is using GPS without having to buy the service through Alltel. I have done some research and have come to the decision that the Touch would serve my needs better than the BB. The main question is, does Alltel disable the GPS in the HTC phones like it does in the Moto Q9c? I thought since both were Win OS that might be the case. For the Touch users, how do you like the product?
     
  2. bikebryan

    bikebryan Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Northeast Kansas
    Alltel does NOT disable the GPS functions on any of it's phones. What are you talking about?
     
  3. Buckwheet

    Buckwheet New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    According to an Alltel CSR and what I have gleaned from the web. The Motorola Q9c has to have the Alltel navigation subscription for GPS/AGPS to work. Blackberry Curve has the ability to read GPS/AGPS and maps without an Alltel subscription.
     
    #3 Buckwheet, Oct 26, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2008
  4. MrObvious

    MrObvious Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    That's probably crap as far as it being disabled. That said, the Blackberry sucks for web browsing and the Touch Diamond has Opera for that. I think GPS comes enabled and it's enabled by default on the 6800 and Touch.
     
  5. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    Wirelessly posted (Opera Mini on Alltel HTC 6800: Opera/9.50 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.1.11355/408; U; en))

    Other than corprate testers I doubt there are any touch diamond users on alltel just yet... Having used the 6900 touch and 6800 titan on Alltel, I believe you will be happiest with any of the HTC devices over the curve. I will usually sell the curve to end users that are not real tech savvy, as you can usually set them and forget them. There aren't as many configuration options readily available to most consumers...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. bikebryan

    bikebryan Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Northeast Kansas
    True you have to have a navigation program on the phone, but it is a WM phone and it should work with ANY Navigation software compatable with the WM version your phone has on it.
     
  7. ctx89

    ctx89 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Andover, Kansas
    My Phone:
    Motorola Droid
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I have had NO problems with my Alltel Touch. Updated to latest firmware 2-3 weeks ago and GPS works great (outdoors) and having Rev.A makes the internet more enjoyable. Email is great, no problems with WM 6.1, and the size is Awesome. Only issue I have is that my fingers are too "fat" for the screen sometimes.

    I've been thinking about getting the new Touch that just came out recentley but I might wait 6 months or so.
     
  8. MrObvious

    MrObvious Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    You should try Touchpal.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2021 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice