Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Tethering w/ Alltel

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by harvicks1, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. harvicks1

    harvicks1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    missouri
    I recently added the $30 feature to tether my Krzr K1M for internet service on my laptop. I can connect and show decent speeds, but I cannot browse web pages! I have spent over 2 hours total on the phone with advanced tech support and NOTHING!! While I'm waiting for them to figure something out.... does anyone know what the prob might be?

    I connect to the internet go to (for example) Google home page and type in something to search. Sometimes I can get one more page to open, then boom - Cannot find web page. EVERY TIME. Sometimes I can open hotmail login page, then I log in and go to my inbox, then boom - Cannot find web page.

    Any clues??? Thanx in advance!
     
  2. royc

    royc Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ohio Valley
    My Phone:
    Motorola V262
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (Alltel)
    It might be a DNS problem. Try putting the IP address of these web sites in your browser bar.

    WirelessAdvisor.com
    http://66.39.72.164

    CNN.com
    http://157.166.226.25

    Microsoft.com
    http://65.55.21.250

    If you can get to a site by its IP address, but not its www name, your DNS isn't working right. Check the network settings in your computer for your Alltel data connection.

    royc
     
  3. MrObvious

    MrObvious Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hutchinson, KS
    If it is DNS then try 4.2.2.1-6 for DNS servers (one of those six should do it).
     
  4. harvicks1

    harvicks1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    missouri
    Royc,

    Thanx for your help. I am going to try it tonight. If it would be that simple, why has Alltel tech support not thought of it? They are really frustrating me!! Will let ya know what happens. Thanx again!
     
  5. bandit390

    bandit390 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    My Phone:
    Blackberry Storm
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Also delete cache, to make sure the few pages you are pulling up are not just from cache.

    Then try safe mode with networking. Then connect and surf. If it works, then some program/firewall/whatever is blocking you.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2018 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice