Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Tether 8125?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows Mobile Phones' started by AJE, Apr 10, 2006.

  1. AJE

    AJE Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kentucky
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I am trying to find out how to tether the 8125 through USB. I have searched the web for a few days now and found people saying it works but don't explain how. I have had limited success with bluetooth but I need USB to work.

    Thanks
     
  2. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    I don't have the 8125, but if the wModem.exe app is loaded on your device it will make the connection pretty easy.

    1st disable activesync on your PC.
    2nd using "file explorer" on your PPC browse to the "windows" folder click the menu and check the option to "show all files", then scan all the way down until you find the program called "WModem"
    3rd plug your USB cable into your PC, your PC should now recognize it as a modem and load the appropriate drivers.

    The WModem utility will simulate the device as a wireless modem, and let your PC/notebook be connected to network wirelessly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AJE

    AJE Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kentucky
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Thanks BeachBum, but I can't find the file wmodem in the windows dir on the ppc. I have checked the show all files but still can't find it. Is this file in WM 5.0?
     
  4. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    Yes it's in WM5, I know when Verizon installs their propriatary software, they remove that file. When you first turned on your 8125 did it automatically load some programs onto your phone?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. AJE

    AJE Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kentucky
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    The 8125 is through Cingular, and yes it loads files when it is turned on for the first time, so maybe that is what is happening. I have also checked our Treo 700 through Verizon and the file is not there either. There is a file called wmdrm on both devices though.
     
  6. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    I'll see if I can search and find a thread or a site devoted to tweaking your device, if not you can look at the XV6700 thread some of the modifications should work on your device.

    If Cingular is removing that file or restricting it, there may be a registry setting you can change, or you can disable the initial set-up and only install the programs you need and remove the restrictions. I'll look around and see what information is available.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. AJE

    AJE Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kentucky
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Thanks for checking on this for me.
     
  8. AJE

    AJE Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kentucky
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Ok, I finally found a post on how to get this working. However I can not use my PPTP VPN through the tethering? I am still looking into this but I think it has something to do with the APN has to be isp.cingular but I don't know how to change it? Oh well the search goes on...
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice