Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Temporary Voice Mail Shut Off

Discussion in 'Verizon Wireless Forum' started by RJB, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    34
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I just found this out it is kind of cool. You can type in a code and have your voice mail shut off and then type in a different code and have it put back on. It will not affect anything I called customer service and they said it was fine. Anyways here is the code to shut off *770 and to turn back on *77. I just use it when I dont want a thousand voice mails from work. Also CS told me it might not be avaiable in all areas.
     
  2. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    34
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Just for kicks has anyone tried this yet?
     
  3. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Have you tried it? I don't wanna screw up my voicemail.
     
  4. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I just tried it, Ryan, It works great. If I deactivate voicemail it says "The customer you have called on the Verizon Wireless Network is not answering at this time...message 0094001"
     
  5. ronnieg56

    ronnieg56 Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gotham City
    My Phone:
    E815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Doesn't work in NYC. Just tried it and I get Darth Vader's default "cannot dial this number".

    --
    rg56
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    34
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Yes I have tried it nothing will happen to your voice mail. Like I said I like this feature because if I know I am going to have a thousane voicemails I just do this.
     
  7. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    yeah-it's a great idea if you don't want to receive tons of voicemails. Thanks a lot for sharing this, Ryan!
     
  8. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 27 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,052
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 12 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Is this a feature Verizon has to note on your account? I ask this because I tried it and it said "Your service does not include use of this feature. Please contact customer service for further assistance." Either I have to activate it via CS first, or it is not available in the Los Angeles area. Oh well..... :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I don't think it has to be activated by CS, since it's a code just like call forwarding, etc. In my area, call forwarding is activated by dialing *72then the phone number you want to forward calls to, and deactivated by dialing *720, so this *77 and *770 makes sense. As Ryan stated, this might not be true everywhere, maybe you guys have different codes.
     
  10. Pati Sellers

    Pati Sellers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    albany, tx
    My Phone:
    LG
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VERIZON
    I just did and it worked! New phone and new service. Thank you so much
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2021 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice