Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

T-Mobile: My initial experience in the Los Angeles area

Discussion in 'T-Mobile Forum' started by @TheRealDanny, Dec 16, 2006.

1. @TheRealDanny

@TheRealDanny ALL IN

My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile USA
    Hi guys:

I'm new to T-Mobile but I already see I made a huge mistake porting my Verizon number over so hastily.

I'm in the Los Angeles area and I literally feel I warped back to 2001 when it was the norm for mobile phones "not," to work indoors and to encounter numerous dead spots. I'm so used to EVDO so the GPRS thing is a bit disconcerting and very slow.

I purchased the Pearl Gray RAZR online for $ 49.99. I knew T-Mobile was weak a few years ago, but I've heard they have gotten much much better now that we are so close to 2007.

Don't get me wrong. I know there are plenty of areas where the service is great and I know every carrier has their good and bad areas. However, I cannot remember the last time I ever had "no service," with Verizon or Sprint while shopping indoors at so many local retailers throughout the Greater Los Angeles area. I've had weak spots with every carrier but I'm just so especially surprised at all the dead spots I've recently encountered.

Today, while visiting friends through Long Beach, CA., I encountered 4 large retail locations, one large gym, and my friends place where I had absolutely zero service indoors:

Wal-Mart: North Long Beach
    Wal-Mart: Off of 5th Ave
    Circuit City: Off of Bellflower Ave
    Best Buy: Signal Hill area off of Cherry Ave
    Gold's Gym: Pine Ave
    My friends condo: Belmont Shores