Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Sprint WILL NOT Activate Non-Sprint Phones

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by M in LA, Aug 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    To avoid endless threads asking the same question as to whether Sprint can activate a Verizon phone (of any kind), or a phone from MetroPCS, Cricket, US Cellular or Grandma's Cellular, below is the answer given each time this question is asked:

    Sprint will not activate any phone they do not sell, even if the same model is carried by any CDMA network competitor, like Verizon or Alltel.

    Though this is not absolute, the likelihood of them activating a non-Sprint phone is slim to none. Even if you get lucky and are able to do it, you are fortunate because a Sprint employee did something they are not supposed to do.

    The time and effort it would take to try and activate a non-Sprint phone with Sprint is not worth the bother.

    Sell your other-carrier phone and buy the Sprint version.

    Another important point to make is Sprint and Verizon, in particular, have their own user interface they use with on phones to personalize it to the carrier's options and standards. A phone would need to be "flashed" in order to even be able to be used on another carrier. If you don't know what "flashing a phone" means, you shouldn't bother doing it. You would really have to know how to do it properly and even then, the time and effort is not worth the bother AND you run the risk of killing the phone, otherwise relegating it to a paper-weight or door-stopper. Besides, you would not have access to several Sprint features because you do not have their options programmed into the phone. Flashing doesn't guarantee it will work with Sprint either.

    "Unlocking" a phone is irrelevant to CDMA carriers, like Sprint. Unlocking is most useful for GSM carriers like AT&T and T-Mobile, as unlocking your phone allows you to use it on any GSM network.

    The bottom line is there is no guarantee Sprint will activate a CDMA phone they haven't sold, regardless where it's from.

    Hopefully this answers a question you are about to ask as a new thread.:)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 M in LA, Aug 31, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  2. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    Thanks for making this thread. So many people join just to make their own thread about Sprint BB to Verizon, or Verizon Q on Sprint, or Can I use my Verizon 8830 on Sprint? It is downright annoying because the answer is always the same. Thanks for making the thread to avoid future questions. I bet some people will still ask anyway, but hopefully this will get their attention before they go and make a new thread about a question that has been discussed many many times already.

    In case you didn't read all of Mike's post, here it is one more time everyone. Yes it can be done, but it is more trouble than it is worth. Just sell your old phone and buy a new one from that carrier.

    If you are thinking about bringing your old phone along, don't post here and ask if it is possible. If you make your own thread when this one already tells you the answer, you will look like a fool.
     
  3. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    The thread outa be a nice prominent sticky.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Yeah mike thanks I am with you as well but people are still going to post it lo.l.
     
  5. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I got the idea to post this from the funny but true reply you made to the person with the "Q" question. If they make this a sticky (as well as the one in the Verizon forum), hopefully people might pay attention to it, otherwise we'll remind them to read this thread...:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. niteowl

    niteowl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    so youre saying they limit service exclusively to the phones they offer on their website? and pretty much absolutely nothing else? because i really would like an ericsson, but i think im going to have to switch to t-mobile, although i hear their service isnt so great...
     
  7. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    If it doesn't say Sprint on the phone itself, Sprint won't activate it.

    On a side note, I haven't seen an Ericsson CDMA handset in a while, here in the US I think it's been almost four or five years since I've seen one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    Well if the phone you want is a GSM phone Sprint won't activate it because they don't use GSM. If you want an Ericsson, but you don't want T-Mobile, you can get an unlocked Ericsson and use it on AT&T or another GSM carrier. With GSM you can take the SIM card out and put another SIM in the phone. CDMA phones don't use SIM cards and the phone must be activated by the carrier. CDMA carriers usually don't activate phones that they did not sell.
     
  9. Fire14

    Fire14 Easy,Cheap & Sleazy
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,446
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Union County NJ
    My Phone:
    EnV
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon

    Yeah I haven't seen one in years either, and now they are all known as Sony Ericsson's so I bet it's a really old CDMA phone or a old TDMA phone, since I believe they became SE when AT&T went GSM or right around that time. I had the old Ericsson GAIT phone before they changed names.
     
  10. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Yep, that's what I'm saying. No Ericsson on Sprint. They don't carry them and they aren't available anymore.

    Sony Ericsson makes GSM handsets ONLY. AT&T and T-Mobile are your "major carrier" choices.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    It is to bad that nokia and sony are gsm only they do make some good phones.
     
  12. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I wonder what Sprint's thing with Sanyo is all about? I've heard (and seen) their phones are a mixed bag.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    I like the high end Nokia devices. The N95 is so nice. It came out before than the iPhone and I like it more. I wish Nokia would make some nice CDMA phones.
     
  14. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I hear you my man
     
  15. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Sadly it wasn't worth it for them anymore. So much so they recruited Pantech to be the maker of their CDMA "Nokia" branded phones...

    I'm with you and Ryan on this one...:(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Yeah it is to bad they went this way oh well
     
  17. djcmaz

    djcmaz Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    My Phone:
    BLACKJACK / TILT
    Wireless Provider(s):
    SPRINT - (WORK PHONE)/ CINGULAR


    We activate non sprint phones on the sprint network on a daily basis...
     
  18. treotosh

    treotosh Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando area
    My Phone:
    Palm Treo 750
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular/At&t
    this thread is really not that true anymore, like the person above me said some places do active sprint phones.

    but it was a helpful thread thou, don't get me wrong
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    It's up to the Mods to decide what to do with this thread.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410


    There is no reason to close this thread at this time.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    Do you work for a third party affiliate or for Sprint corporate? I've never heard of Sprint corporate employees activating a non-Sprint phone by any means short of a miracle.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. treotosh

    treotosh Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando area
    My Phone:
    Palm Treo 750
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular/At&t
    I guess as long as the company that does the activion is getting there money, it really does not matter if its a sprint or verizon phone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice