Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Sprint text messaging now works when roaming!

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by larry, Sep 3, 2005.

  1. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Here in So. Calif. text messaging is now working when roaming on verizon analog/digital. Woo hoo! :)
     
  2. Tony E!

    Tony E! Retired Mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,190
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    18
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    good news....are any of the other carriers doing this yet?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. That's good to hear, indeed. There's alot of people around here that have sprint plans, but of course sprint doesn't have service here so they roam on vzw. i dunno why they'd wanna do that but at least now they can text while they're roaming.
     
  4. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Remember this might be area specific. Just because Verizon has enabled this ability here doesn't mean it's everywhere yet. But who knows.
     
  5. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,003
    Likes Received:
    854
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    Wow. I didn't realize that sprint/verizon didn't allow this. I just assumed that all carriers allow SMS when roaming, at least when roaming on digital networks. Good news for you.
     
  6. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Verizon allows SMS while roaming on some networks, especially ALLTEL, Western Wireless(I guess now Alltel as well), USCC, and others. Don't know they allow SMS on Sprint.
     
  7. Tony E!

    Tony E! Retired Mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,190
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    18
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    City of /\ngels CA.
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile

    exactly, keyword some networks...... ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    So is there anyone that can provide information as to whether or not Sprint allows SMS while roaming on ANY network in the U.S.?
     
  9. though

    though New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Big XII Country
    i was roaming last night in both analog and digital in the eastern Nebraska area (alltel) and text messaging did NOT work :mad: :confused:
     
  10. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I suppose this was with Sprint?? Or are you using a Verizon handset?
     
  11. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Tried it here in Buffalo on Analog Roam on Verizon, but it didnt work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Sprint had an internal press release not to long ago about the upcoming availability of SMS while digital roaming. So more should be coming soon.
     
  13. though

    though New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Big XII Country
    i have a sprint (sanyo) handset
     
  14. TKR

    TKR Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Roaming SMS (sending, at least) does not work on my Sanyo 2300 in the Atlanta area. I get a "service not available" prompt on my 2300 when I hit send. It apppears to be a canned message.

    I was able to send an "SMS" text mesage from the Sprint Web site to my phone and it came through while roaming?!?

    I wonder if send capability is handset specific. Can anyone near Larry (sourthern CaL that is) try to send an SMS while roaming on a late model Sanyo and report back if it worked?
     
  15. though

    though New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Big XII Country
    mine is a 2300 as well.
     
  16. TKR

    TKR Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    So, will you have to buy a new phone for that? :rolleyes:
     
  17. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    problem is, some manufacturers have disabled the ability to send text msgs while roaming. My LG PM-325 won't even TRY to send a message while it's in roaming mode, claiming that it's not available while roaming and will send when back on the Sprint network. :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. though

    though New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Big XII Country
    hmm wonder if there is a software update that will fix that?
     
  19. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    That's entirely possible. Hopefully they'll release one for the PM-325 and other phones that just plain won't allow text messaging while roaming. The PM-325 isn't the only one, I know... however, I'm not sure what other phones don't allow it outside of the Sanyo mentioned above. The thing I find strange is that Larry's PM-225 will allow it and the PM-325 won't. Go figure.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Actually I haven't tried it yet on mine. I was a texting a friend who was roaming on Verizon here in So. Calif in the mountains the other day. His phone was on digital roaming the entire time and we were SMS'ing back and forth with no trouble. I will try mine soon and see. Can't do it here because there's no useable analog service where I live. Plus my LG won't allow me to force the phone into digital roaming. So in other words I have to be in an area where there is no Sprint service at all to try this. :(
     
  21. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    That sucks. Now I'm wondering if it's an LG bug or something.
     
  22. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Perhaps, but there's another LG bug that may allow you to try it... Put your phone in "roaming only" and it will dump to analog roam... give it about 15 seconds to change service areas and then immediately go back to "automatic". At that point it will actually go to digital roam for about 1-2 minutes and then eventually back to Sprint.. you may not be able to get a text msg fired off before it jumps back to Sprint, though. :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Just tried that and my phone does not have that bug. After setting it to 'roaming only' it went into analog. Then I set it back to 'automatic' and it went immediately back to Sprint service. Tried it twice and same thing both times.
     
  24. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Looks like they fixed a few bugs in the 225 that were present in the 325. I really like the 225 better than the 325 except for no bluetooth. I'm spoiled now. :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Yeah the 225 is a pretty good phone. I like not having to take it in to the store to get a software upgrade. Just downloaded the new one right OTA. Only took about 5 minutes. :)
     
  26. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Yep... the 325 has it and I've used it for all of the firmware updates that have been released so far. I'd really like to see another firmware update released that fixes the bug where the phone reboots if the browser tries to render a page too large (cache fills up?). Also, allowing the phone to at least ATTEMPT to send texts while roaming would be a plus. But still, I like the phone and I'm going to keep it until something else comes along with bluetooth and a ton of cool features.

    on a side note, now that sms while roaming is being opened up slowly but surely, hopefully data roaming won't be too far behind. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  27. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    By the way analog service here in So. Calif. has gotten so bad that you can barely even make any calls at all. 90% of the time you get a fast busy signal when trying to analog roam around here. What's up with that Verizon!!!???
     
  28. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    CDMA carriers are working on that as we speak. Verizon and Alltel just opened up a DATA roaming agreement last week.
     
  29. though

    though New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Big XII Country
    please people, try to send/receive txt messages while in digital roam. post where you are located, which phone you have, and whether it works or not.

    i have the sanyo 2300 and am unable to send/receive here in Nebraska (while on alltel digital network).
     
  30. cryogenic

    cryogenic Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    My Phone:
    Samsung A990
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Wirelessly posted (treo600: LGE-PM325/1.0 UP.Browser/6.2.3.2 (GUI) MMP/2.0)

    Larry... Verizon is most likely taking analog channels down and re-allocating them to cdma to alleviate capacity issues. They haven't done this in atlanta and the network is having major capacity issues according to stanley
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice