Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Sprint roaming

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by AliG, Jun 19, 2002.

  1. AliG

    AliG New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have looked into Sprint, but their no roaming claim has been a little off. I know people who have Sprint and do get roaming charges now and then. On their map they seem to have very little of their own coverage and many areas where they have roaming agreements. The areas in which Sprint has roaming agreements are areas that you will be charged in, correct?
     
  2. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Yes. If you keep your phone set to "Sprint Pcs only" mode you will never encounter roaming charges. If your phone is set to "automatic" and displays the word "roam" then you will be charged for roaming.
     
  3. mmp151

    mmp151 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Larry is right, its a great idea to keep your phone on Sprint PCS, then you do not encounter roaming charges.

    My entire family has 4 sprint pcs phones we have yet to encounter a minute of roaming. However one annoying thing is the fact that some samsung phones have that one touch wireless web button, and sometimes my mother who isnt very english literate just keeps hitting buttons and gets onto the wireless web and my parents get charged for it. Is there anything I can do about this?
     
  4. markv83

    markv83 Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your phone may have an option called web guard which will display a message asking if you want to log on to the web. My phone has it at least, although I am not too sure about your model.
    Mark
     
  5. ComicalMoodyDan

    ComicalMoodyDan Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,302
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Kingsport, TN
    My Phone:
    LG Volt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Web Guard is a good idea the phone that I tried out (SamSung N200) had a web guard feature on it. By default it was turned on also.
     
  6. IdiOTeQnoLogY

    IdiOTeQnoLogY Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes all sprint phones with web should have the web guard feature. look at your manual to find out how to do it. if you lost your manual you can download a manual to your phone at www.sprintpcs.com after you log in.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice