Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Sprint Problem

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by ChaosThyre81, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. ChaosThyre81

    ChaosThyre81 Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, Mi
    Hello,

    For the last two weeks, my phone goes from searching for service, to having a signal, to going back to searching for service. It's default channel is 450, and it keeps bouncing from 450 to 500 constantly. Normally at home it always stayed on channel 450, and sometimes when I dialed out it would switch to another channel. I called Sprint and there are no issues in the area. Friends of mine with sprint arent getting calls and when they dial out, it takes a while to connect. When I dial out it usually takes forever to connect and my phone misses 90% of the calls when people call me, when I call my phone it rings 4 times and goes to voicemail. I'm not sure what the deal is? Any thoughts? My brother lives with me and has a new Katana and his switches channels constantly, too.
     
  2. PCSuser

    PCSuser Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern US; Born a Brit!
    My Phone:
    PPC-6700 w/ WM6
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint PCS - happily holding crystal clear calls!
    You probably are going to have to go into your phone settings and put it to 'Sprint Only'.

    Also try dialing *18 for a tower resync - that helped me out.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ChaosThyre81

    ChaosThyre81 Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, Mi
    My phone is set to sprint only. *18 doesn't do anything when I dial it?
     
  4. ace41690

    ace41690 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Connecticut
    My Phone:
    HTC Hero
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    This exact problem happened to my MM7400. It was only a matter of time before it couldnt find a signal at all. The techs couldnt figure out what was wrong with it and i had to get a replacement. I think your phones probably done for dude. Maybe thats not what happened though since you said your friends are having the same problem. Are you having the problem everywhere or can you pinpoint it to one specific tower? Perhaps the towers busted.
     
  5. ChaosThyre81

    ChaosThyre81 Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, Mi
    It's the worst at home, at my parents house it's pretty stable and other places it does the same thing. It's weird. My bro's new Katana does the same thing at my place.
     
  6. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    If more than one phone is all of a sudden experiencing problems in a certain area then it has to be a network/tower issue. Call Sprint and have them open a trouble ticket, even if they say there are no outages in your area.
     
  7. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    *18 does absolutely NOTHING but turn on the ability to receive incoming calls when roaming (*180 is the toggle to turn incoming calls off when roaming). It's leftover from the old follow me roaming days back in the 90's.

    Why does this urband legend/myth of *18 doing a tower resync (whatever that means LOL!) keep popping up after all these years even though it never had any basis to begin with? If you study CDMA phones and technology and know how it really works you can't help but find these things silly and ridiculous.
     
  8. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Sounds like you might be on or near an NID/SID border. That is the no. 1 cause of calls not coming in as well as channel bouncing.
     
  9. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Cause people are not educated.
     
  10. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Haha, agreed. I don't even know where people pull *18 from these days...Are there techs that actually advise people to do this or do people just stumble over this information somewhere and think it works?
     
  11. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I know that Sprint store reps would always tell customers that if they got a PRL update it would improve their reception. Back in 1998 when I was an uneducated customer I actually bought into that crap.
     
  12. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Oh same with Verizon. You call their CS with the address and exact sector of a cell site that is malfunctioning and their response is that the reason why you are experiencing this is because you don't have the latest PRL...bla bla...you call them and complain about something, their response ALWAYS is "Update your PRL."
     
  13. rosenthalliou

    rosenthalliou Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CALIFORNIA
    My Phone:
    HTC Touch
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint PCS

    haha that's funny cause it's so true
     
  14. Kalimotxo

    Kalimotxo Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    My Phone:
    The latest and greatest.
    Wireless Provider(s):
    All of them.
    *18 hahaha... It's like Verizon always telling me that *228 would fix all of my service problems. HA!
     
  15. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Dialing any code is never going to help with service problems.
     
  16. ChaosThyre81

    ChaosThyre81 Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, Mi
    Does the phone has a primary and secondary channel from which it can choose? How does it pick which one to choose? Up until 2 weeks ago I didn't have this problem. While driving thru Ohio I had this problem but once I powered the phone off then back on it was fine. It was always on channel 450 at home, and sometimes while calling out, it would switch to a different channel. My brothers phone used to always be on channel 500, but now it bounces between 475 and 500 and misses calls like my phone. Weird.
     
  17. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    well when my phone gets service is usually jumps channels a bunch fo times before it settles on one.........

    *18 has helped me.........incoming calls werent going..........friends would try to call me on my cell and it would go right to vmail even if my phone was on........friends would call my house and by like "yo wats up?!?!?!" then i did the *18 and incoming calls just started working again........maybe i just needed to make an outgoing call to be recognized again on the tower but since *18 is so blan i dont see why i shouldnt use it :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice