Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Sprint Phones on Verizon Network?

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by orioles150, May 10, 2003.

  1. orioles150

    orioles150 Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    My Phone:
    e815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Is it possible to use a Sprint phone on a Verizon network? It seems to me that they should be compatable since they both run at the same frequencies. If it is possible then why do you think more people haven't done this? And if it isnt possible, why can't it be done?
     
  2. coalminer

    coalminer Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Royalton, OH
    My Phone:
    Blackberry Tour
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    If you have a dual band, tri-mode phone, and you have the master subsidy lock code, then you can use it on Verizon, your profile says you have an lg 5250, that phone is dual band, but it is only a dual mode phone, will not work on 800 CDMA, so that phone you cant use on Verizon, unless you were in Florida, Minnesota, or parts of Texas where Verizons service is in the PCS bands.
     
  3. orioles150

    orioles150 Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    My Phone:
    e815
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Thanks coalminer - I am actually looking into buying a new phone now which is what i am looking into now. For example the new Sanyo 8100 is tri-mode and therefore is the same as Verizon's phones. What is the master subsidy lock code? Is it something that i could easily find?
     
  4. njsvrzncdma

    njsvrzncdma i cant stop the ringing..
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    JeRsEy
    My Phone:
    LG vx8500
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VERIZON
    we all wish those codes were easy to get. however you would have to fond someone with the comp prog to unlock it. Many usually will do it for a small fee.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. coalminer

    coalminer Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Royalton, OH
    My Phone:
    Blackberry Tour
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Well, you have to call Sprint up and tell them that you want to change the phone on your account, they will walk you through the programming, but there is one thing, if you have a phone that has never been activated before, the first code they will give you is a one time only code, tell them it does not work, they will give you a second code, which is the MSL. There are a few other things to do to the phone to get it to work on Verizon, but getting the code is the big thing.
     
  6. njsvrzncdma

    njsvrzncdma i cant stop the ringing..
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    JeRsEy
    My Phone:
    LG vx8500
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VERIZON
    thats good to know..gues it will save some people some money
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. rainbow

    rainbow New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is great. I was told Sprint phone do not work on Verizon network at all.
     
  8. Fathead

    Fathead In the Industry
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    You can do it, it's just not easy. And most data won't work. but it's possible.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Who dug up this thread that's 3 years old! LOL
     
  10. Fathead

    Fathead In the Industry
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I didn't even see that. lol
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. strunke

    strunke .:|Always Covered|:.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    BVR
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8230, KRZR K1m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile, Sprint, Centennial
    Actually, Dual-Band is 800 and 1900 mhz digital only, it just means there is no analog.....

    Oh crap, i just realized this was really old....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice