Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Sprint new PRL 10032 (Non-EVDO)

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by larry, Apr 12, 2006.

  1. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Anyone who travels between California and Arizona should get this new version as it makes CDMA roaming higher in priority than it used to be in Western Arizona along the AZ/NV/CA borders. Budney, this could be beneficial to you if you still have Sprint.
     
  2. Studogvetmed

    Studogvetmed Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    My Phone:
    Sanyo-6650 (Katana II)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Hey Larry,

    From what you know would it be worth updating from 10029, if I'm from Colorado and am planning a trip across Utah, Nevada and towards San Diego and the Mexican border (Campo, CA), in May?

    Thanks if you have any thoughts,
    Stuart
     
  3. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I would get the update if you're going to be going through Arizona at all. If not then it's not going to be a factor.
     
  4. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    What route will you be taking? Across I-70 to Utah, then down I-15 towards San Diego?
     
  5. Studogvetmed

    Studogvetmed Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    My Phone:
    Sanyo-6650 (Katana II)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    That is the tentative plan, yes.
     
  6. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    I-70 in UT you will be roaming on ALLTEL and VZW for the most part, but I-15 down to San Diego is covered natively by Sprint as you probably know. Sprint shows native service on part of I-70 in UT but I'm still unable to find any trace of that...:confused:
     
  7. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Thanks Larry, I do have Sprint, but I have a EV phone. If I have a chance I may update my mom's & sister's phones. A change from Dobson's AMPS to Mohave's CDMA will be nice, at least for battery savings. :)
     
  8. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    The EV-DO PRL update does the same thing so yes it will be nice to have Mohave's CDMA to fall back on.
     
  9. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    ...Wait...Sprint roamed on Dobson AMPS in Mohave County AZ and not on Mohave Wireless until the new PRL update???
     
  10. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Roaming with a EV-DO phone has always been with Mohave in my area. Their is no AMPS on EV-DO phones. ;)

    I hope someone finds out about all of the changes in both PRLs.
     
  11. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Yep! I am not sure about some of the newer phones with the new network selection, if you could force roaming on Mohave. Dobson's AMPS network was very good when I used it a few years back, just not sure about it now.
     
  12. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Not sure on that one but one possibility is that Sprint simply made Mohave CDMA higher in priority than it used to be with the new PRL.
     
  13. TProphet

    TProphet I *am* a mobile phone
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Renton, WA
    My Phone:
    Sanyo 7200
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Cingular, Virgin Mobile Canada
    This is being worked on... should be ready sometime next week.

     
  14. Studogvetmed

    Studogvetmed Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    My Phone:
    Sanyo-6650 (Katana II)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Any ideas where CS told me after I tried to get flagged for a PRL updated that version 10029 is the most recent version and I don't need an update?

    edit:
    Rascally reps :) Issue sorted after a couple more phone calls and a power cycle.

    Cheers,

    Stu
     
    #14 Studogvetmed, Apr 25, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2006
  15. CellGeek

    CellGeek Sprint is the BOMB!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Because they are Mongoloid Idiots! :eek:

     
  16. Studogvetmed

    Studogvetmed Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    My Phone:
    Sanyo-6650 (Katana II)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I had to google "mongoloid"... Gotcha.

    It only took four phone calls. I got asked at one point if I had another phone they could call me on. I said no. and she did something and it didn't work. Called back and got asked again and I finally said yes. This is when the gal had me power cycle the phone and then call *2 afterwards... Okay. why didn't the other rep say, "You'll have to hang up, but try this:" Come to think of it, the first rep who asked if I had another phone was the one who said I didn't NEED the update... Oh well :)

    I guess because if it had worked, she wouldn't have gotten the credit for "How would you rate theh level of service today?" :loony:

    Hopefully the update to my wife's phone will go a little smoother.

    Cheers,
    Stu
     
  17. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    The info that the reps see on their system is usually outdated by about 4 or 5 months so they are usually the last to know when a new version is released.
     
  18. Studogvetmed

    Studogvetmed Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    My Phone:
    Sanyo-6650 (Katana II)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Good to know. That makes since then. My wife's update went straight through when I got to it this evening.

    Cheers all,
    Stu
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice