Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Sprint in AZ and NM

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by scip, Aug 19, 2006.

  1. scip

    scip New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    We're looking at changing service. Have had Cricket :loony: for four years because no traveling and in Metro Phx. Now needing to travel to north of Flagstaff, Kingman and north and east of Albuquerque. Have narrowed it down, we think to Sprint, but found this site. Anyone out in this area who thinks we should or shouldn't use Sprint?
     
  2. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Yes Sprint covers those areas well. Plus Sprint has free roaming capabilites on Alltel if needed.
     
  3. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    and Verizon and they are working on the data roaming on Alltel I think.....well at any rate the voice coverage is amazing if you have unlimited free roaming
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Any of the CDMA carriers will work. It just comes down to which one has a plan that fits your needs at price you are willing to pay. I would highly recommend a tri-mode phone over any of the all digital phones for where you are traveling too.
     
  5. djcmaz

    djcmaz Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    My Phone:
    BLACKJACK / TILT
    Wireless Provider(s):
    SPRINT - (WORK PHONE)/ CINGULAR
    with the towers issues out here on CDMA my suggestion would be to check into CINGULAR. I myself live in Kingman and had to throw Sprint out the door.. Their coverage is getting awful out here.. I have no probs with Cingular and I love the roll-over.. I'm not burning money anymore on unused minutes.
     
  6. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    are you kidding.......Cingular is so week out there with so many dead areas it might get shot in a western showdown
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    go with CDMA no matter what cuz Sprint will give you roaming on Verizon and Alltel so they pretty much blanket the area

    Sprint even has some Power Vision near Phoenix......there are about 2 dead areas there.......near Las Vegas and one in the center of the eastern border
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    CDMA is absolutely the best for AZ.
     
  9. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 7130e: BlackBerry7130e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104)

    I have had no problems with sprint all over AZ. Data roaming on Alltel works too. I'd go T Mobile before Cingular in AZ.

    I think sprint or Alltel are the best two choices.
     
  10. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    for CDMA go with Sprint

    for GSM go with Cingular........Cingular's coverage is better than T-Mobile's out there and oddly enough T-Mobile doesn't roam on Cingular out there

    go here:
    http://onlinecare.cingular.com/support/maps.do

    to check out the coverage........you might want to make sure that you don't make too many calls in the roaming areas because Cingular will cut off your roaming usage if 50% or more of your calls over 3 consecutive months are on towers other than Cingulars.......if your going to do a lot of travel in NM then do not get Cingular unless your sticking to Albuquerque.....and the major highways.....almost all of Cingulars coverage in NM is roaming
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 7130e: BlackBerry7130e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104)

    Not true. T mobile will roam on Cingular here. I seen it with my own eyes! Lol
     
  12. djcmaz

    djcmaz Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    My Phone:
    BLACKJACK / TILT
    Wireless Provider(s):
    SPRINT - (WORK PHONE)/ CINGULAR
    LETS NOT FORGET HALF OF KINGMAN.....DEAD ZONE...ONLY HALF YOUR CALLS GO THROUGH............
     
  13. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    well Sprint pretty much blankets the entire with native and roaming voice......there is even Power Vision in Phoenix

    Verizon has digital in the major cities of Arizona......some analog in southwest
    a lot of analog in eastern NM some digital if you stick to major cities again

    not sure about alltel.........can we get an alltel tech in here????
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Please! If half of Kingman was a dead zone since your problems with Sprint (2 months ago) I would of heard a lot about it from a lot more people where I work. As quite a few people do the commute from Kingam to BHC/Laughlin.
     
  15. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Kingman is well covered. Alamosa PCS did the orignal build-out in partnership with SBA (now AAT) to construct their towers. I've seen the cell site placement and there's no way that half of Kingman could be a dead zone. Not even close.
     
  16. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I was in Kingman last month and had no problems at all.
     
  17. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Alamosa did a wonderful job in this area. As much as would like to get a cool GSM PPC/phone with features I would love to have, I just can't do it. Sprint's coverage, roaming, data, plans are just too good for me & my family. :)
     
  18. UFO

    UFO Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hampton Roads, VA
    My Phone:
    Palm Centro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint and alltel
    This thread is also present in the Alltel forum so the Alltel news is light on this specific thread. But Alltel coverage in the area appears to be great, even beyond the interstate and cities into the rural areas, it is also an alltel EVDO area and from the posts in the Alltel forum, it appears that people in the area are getting much better reception with Alltel than Verizon. Alltel has invested heavily in the area even to the point where they're a major sponsor of the Arizona Cardinals.

    There's a lot of people in the Sprint and Verizon forums talking about how you can free roam and data roam on the Alltel network, but why not just go with Alltel in the first place if the coverage is better. That way your phone won't hold onto an unusable Sprint or Verizon signal before it switches over to Alltel. Alltel's prices are generally better as well, you get more minutes for the price, and you get MyCircle. And if you do have any coverage concerns, it is also true that Alltel customers roam for free off of Verizon and Sprint if that is ever necessary.
     
    #18 UFO, Aug 22, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2006
  19. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Not a bad idea to choose Alltel, or at least seriously consider them. They would be my carrier of choice if I ever left Sprint. The only possible knock on Alltel is that I have heard that their metro PHX coverage is not as good as either Sprint's or Verizon's. I don't know anyone with Alltel here, so I have no way to confirm this or not. Alltel is absolutely the king of rural AZ coverage.
     
  20. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    will Alltel roam on Sprint or Verizon if there is no Alltel native coverage?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Yes, I think Alltel's main roaming partner is still VZW.
     
  22. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    yeah they pretty much get along well together....its Sprint that im not entirely sure of.......wouldn't it be great if they showed the carriers that would be roamed on and where........kind of like the international roaming pages of the carriers.....they show the country and the carriers that cover it and what frequencies they work on
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. UFO

    UFO Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hampton Roads, VA
    My Phone:
    Palm Centro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint and alltel
    Yes, I occasionally check my sid when I travel away from home and in certain areas, I have free roamed off of Verizon, Sprint, and even USCC in WV.
     
  24. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    yeah but im saying that it would be cool if the national coverage map was like the international coverage map where they show the carrier and frequency thaqt service is being provided on
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Yeah, but that will never happen because no carrier wants to show where the competition provides coverage and they do not. ;)
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice