Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

WEST U.S. -- Sprint coverage in Alaska...

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by Alaskan99654, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Alaskan99654

    Alaskan99654 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mat Su Valley, Alaska
    My Phone:
    razor
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GCI
    Was preparing to purchase a GPS tracking device that uses Sprint, when I was told Sprint doesn't cover Alaska. Their coverage maps seem to bear that out, but... does anyone know any different? Is it true that Sprint isn't in Alaska?
     
  2. Eric47

    Eric47 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    in my own house
    My Phone:
    crackberry's
    there has been a mixed debate on this. as far as we can tell they "may" work in some places, but not in all the cities that some other carriers like ATT and Verizon are working in, or so this is what it seems.

    from my own personal research of talking to people moving to Alaska (mostly military) they almost all get ATT because they say its the only thing that works...

    just curious, why get a GPS that uses a cellphone carrier? why not a garmin or something that uses actual satellites?
     
  3. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    He's using a GPS tracking device, one that needs to report back to a server. To provide that feature the GPS unit has to have a data device in it, some of these units come with Sprint modems in them and a lot of others use Verizon.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Alaskan99654

    Alaskan99654 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mat Su Valley, Alaska
    My Phone:
    razor
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GCI
    Actually I'm trying to find such an animal that will work up here. Had my heart set on a Sendum PT-200 until the vendor advised that it used Sprint, which they didn't think worked up here. They suggested I look at Enfora devices, to whom I have written to.

    So, in the meantime I'm looking for a real time, celluar assisted GPS tracking unit. One that doesn't need to "see the sky" to work, and that I can track via the internet. Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  5. RadioFoneGuy

    RadioFoneGuy Powered by HTC FUZE
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Everywhere.
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6103, 6010, 2260
    Wireless Provider(s):
    The death star formally known as Cell One.
    I know the ATT has something along that lines in their own vehicles.

    It has the GPS antenna then every 7-10 minutes sends out a data burst over the EDGE network.

    Cellular One had the largest network but ATT bought them out back in November.

    Look at the business solutions on ATT.com there may be something there.
     
  6. mframe

    mframe Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Western MA
    My Phone:
    Pixel 3aXL, Moto G7 Power
    Wireless Provider(s):
    TracFone, PagePlus, TMO, Xfinity, H2O
    The AT&T Tilt (Windows Smartphone) has built-in GPS.
     
  7. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Sprint does have native service in Alaska but it is provided by another carrier through a partnership deal. Similar to what they have in Montana with Alltel.
     
  8. RadioFoneGuy

    RadioFoneGuy Powered by HTC FUZE
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Everywhere.
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6103, 6010, 2260
    Wireless Provider(s):
    The death star formally known as Cell One.
    ACS is the CDMA carrier up there. They claim EVDO but I read in another thread somewhere that in most areas they still have 1X.

    On their website they poke fun at AT&T on one comparison between them they put

    at&t = Cellular One

    There are claiming 1meg downloads in 10 seconds so that would tell me there REV A

    You can roam with Sprint but I dont know how that would work with a business solution.
     
  9. Alaskan99654

    Alaskan99654 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mat Su Valley, Alaska
    My Phone:
    razor
    Wireless Provider(s):
    GCI
    You guys have been very helpful. Glad I joined the list. The company is sending up a unit to check how well it will work. If interested, I'll post an update.
    Thanks again,

    Ron
    Ron
     
  10. RadioFoneGuy

    RadioFoneGuy Powered by HTC FUZE
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Everywhere.
    My Phone:
    Nokia 6103, 6010, 2260
    Wireless Provider(s):
    The death star formally known as Cell One.
    Good luck, keep us updated.
     
  11. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Yeah for sure I am curious about this as well.
     
  12. jayatmtu

    jayatmtu Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm up in Fairbanks now and am typing this message using my Sprint Data card! On my trips up here in previous years as a Sprint user I only had voice ability (no VM indicator, text messaging, or anything). I am happy to report to say that both my Sprint Blackberry and Sprint Data Card work quite well now, both in Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Deadhorse!
     
  13. CellGeek

    CellGeek Sprint is the BOMB!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    That is good new, but please don't beat the "Deadhorse" :)

     
  14. OCSue

    OCSue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange CA
    My Phone:
    Sprint SCP-3100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Our son is in Fairbanks. All of his calls are on roaming, which costs a fortune: incoming calls (including voicemail) are billed @ $0.94 and outgoing are the same price PER MINUTE. That's lousy. Certainly there must be a better way. Changing to another carrier may be his only option.
     
  15. jayatmtu

    jayatmtu Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm..he either must be on a really old plan that still charges for roaming or perhaps he is on some sort of prepaid plan? I know my Sprint plan includes voice and data roaming anywhere it will work in the 50 states.
     
  16. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Change to a newer plan. He must be on an ancient plan from like 2003 or something! No more roaming charges on modern Sprint plans.
     
  17. OCSue

    OCSue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange CA
    My Phone:
    Sprint SCP-3100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Thanks. We are on an older plan. which up until now we thought was a great deal.
     
  18. OCSue

    OCSue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange CA
    My Phone:
    Sprint SCP-3100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    However, last summer, when he was in Fairbanks, he used the phone and there were no roaming charges. This summer there are roaming charges. We have not changed our plan. Sounds like Sprint changed.

    Anybody have any ideas about that?
     
  19. jayatmtu

    jayatmtu Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know. I just got back from Fairbanks last night and I know my phone worked fine up there with no roaming charges.
     
  20. OCSue

    OCSue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange CA
    My Phone:
    Sprint SCP-3100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I just called Sprint Customer Service who told me that the reason we having roaming charges is because of the particular tower(s) used for the calls. That doesn't explain why there were no roaming charges for the two previous summers when the phone was used in Fairbanks. Sounds like a miracle for Sprint.

    It is true that we have an old plan, so old that Sprint would just love to get us out of it because it is --or was -- such a good deal for us.
     
  21. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    The phone's PRL version could also play a factor in this. When was the last time it was updated and which brand and model is it? If you don't know how to check the PRL version it's usually ##786# and then 'ok'. This varies a little depending on phone but should work on most.

    The phone could be hitting a different roaming partner this time than it did the previous two years which can cause roaming charges if it is not on Sprint's network. Sprint has a network partner in Fairbanks, Alaska which provides Sprint native service. However the phone could have landed on another carrier this time and thus the roaming charges.

    To avoid having to pay roaming charges and not to have to worry about it I would recommend changing the plan to a new one.
     
  22. OCSue

    OCSue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange CA
    My Phone:
    Sprint SCP-3100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Turns out that our son had set his phone to neither accept nor make roaming calls. He called Sprint, got some sort of roaming put on the plan and a credit was issued. No idea why the phone didn't perform as it was supposed to, but the problem has been solved.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice