Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

should I open a cricket retail store?

Discussion in 'Working or Investing in the Wireless Industry' started by soumikcha, Apr 22, 2015.

1. soumikcha

soumikcha New Member

Wireless Provider(s):
    Cricket wireless
    I have been selling phones at my check cashing place for the past five years. Since I do not have a solid carrier backing me up. I have hard time selling alot of phones. So I just do force selling to people who comes to my store for other service.
    But now I have a opportunity to open cricket wireless retail store. And since they got bought buy ATT, I thought it was a good idea.
    I am trying to open my first store at crofton MD, a upper class area with no prepaid cell phone stores near. WIth rent about 4k and payroll about 3-5k plus other cost a total of 10k monthly cost. So I need to sell about 200 phones monthly to make some profit.
    How likely will be for me to sell 200 phones monthly? Right now I sell about 80 phones monthly but again without having a company backing me up, It do becomes difficult.
    Any advice or ideas will be helpful.
    Thanks

2. KevinJames

KevinJames WA's 1st retired mod

My Phone:
    Samsung S7-Edge
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T & Verizon
    Let me preface by saying I have no sales experience, especially not owning a business. You seem to have some of your demographics identified. But the real demographic you need to figure out it who your potential pre-paid buyers are. If you are, as you state, in an upper class area, then I'd say that most of your potentials will be teens that are forced to get their own phones. Even then, I'd bet that most families would opt for family plans so that the individual teen might not be stranded to find their own way.