Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Roaming Using An Alltel-Owned PCS SID

Discussion in 'Alltel Forum' started by KyleAndMelissa22, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Alltel's Greenville-Spartanburg, SC SIDs are 116 for 800 MHz,
    and now there is also SID 5595 for Alltel 1900 MHZ in a few places in the Upstate.

    5595 will display a Solid Roam on my phone,
    so I programmed it to recognize 5595 as a home SID. (NID = 7)

    I wonder if I could get charged roaming for using it, as it is not in regular use.
    I figure that I won't because Alltel owns it anyway. But it isn't in the PRL.

    I have the National Freedom 900 plan

    I made a test call today, so i'll find out if they charge by my next bill on July 16.
    But if anyone knows anything, I'd like to find out what would happen. Thx.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Alltel PCS 1900 MHz SIDs are 5595 for Greenville/Spartanburg
    & theres also SID 5273 for the Anderson area.

    Both 5595 & 5273 are not in regular use (SID 116 is)

    116, 5595 & 5273 all use NID 7, there are no other switches for each.

    Just wondering if they'd charge for roaming. Alltel owns them, but they're not in the PRL...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. JasonWells

    JasonWells Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    My Phone:
    AT&T i phone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T, VZW
    I don't have an answer to your question-lol. However, it made a question for me. I see in the NAM settings there are NIDs. What are they? Also, there is a Network Code, what is that? Thanks!
     
  4. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    NIDs (Network IDs) exist for many reasons. These are usually the most important:

    1. More precise roaming control. NIDs control roaming to a smaller area than an SID.
    NIDs can make it where roamers can roam in one place inside an SID area and not another.

    (Example: Sprint's Charlotte SID 4376 covers all of NC & SC and also parts of Northeast Georgia.
    Inside 4376, NID 1 covers Upstate SC, Western NC & Northeast GA.

    NID 1 is the only NID in 4376 where Alltel users can roam.

    Other NIDs inside 4376 include:
    NID 110 for the Charlotte area
    NID 68 for the Columbia area
    NID 3 for the Charleston area

    There's also NID 2, 8, & 30. All these NIDs are neg'd in the PRL
    (most likely beacuse they fall completely inside Alltel's native area)

    _________________________________________________

    2. Better capacity. Most SIDs have more than one NID.
    NIDs can only hold a certain amount of users.
    NIDs can be as small as a city, or as large as the entire SID it's in
    (so the NYC/LA areas have lots of NIDs!)

    Usually NID areas are about 30 miles in diameter.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. JasonWells

    JasonWells Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    My Phone:
    AT&T i phone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T, VZW
    Thank you for the explanation! In the NAM 1 setting, every NID, home, preferred and forbidden are all 65535. And all theNIDs again in NAM 2 are all 65535. Perhaps my alltel phone isn't regulated very much.. I don't know, but that is fine with me.
     
  6. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    65535 is the default NID for all/most SIDs (and is used by the AMPS system)

    If you want to be able to roam on as many NIDs (inside an SID) as possible,
    Then put 65535 as the home NID.

    However, if you find a (Neg'd) NID that will give you a solid roam, you should enter the actual NID as home.

    65535 will not work for neg'd NIDs

    Neg'd NIDs try to stop you from roaming on them, but this is the way around that.

    This method works at least 9 out of 10 times, and on most systems.

    I couldn't put my Alltel phone onto Verizon SID 127 in Charleston (even with the SID & NID programmed correctly)

    Keep in mind that the SID you use must be a free roam.
    The SID is usually what they go by when they bill you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 KyleAndMelissa22, Jul 10, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2007
  7. techmonkey

    techmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5185i
    Is there a thourough NC/SC/TN list of numbers that would be ideal? or will the common Google-found list suffice.
    I'm in the SE region as well, so was wondering what magic numbers would be best to upgrade my antique phone with only one SID entry and a PRS from 2002.
     
  8. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    What Carrier/SID do you use?
    For SID lists, try MountainWireless or PRL Interpretations

    You can program your phone to recognize other SIDs as a home SID.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. techmonkey

    techmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5185i
    Since the post, I went over to mountain wireless and interpreted the interpretations, set up the western NC and areas as additional SIDs in supplement to my home base 074 in NAM1.

    Don't have the exact numbers on me right now, I ran the battery down playing with it. I put the #s in based on the listings, such as
    00368 [D] FR Alltel Communications
    CMA166B Hickory, NC
    CMA566B North Carolina 2 - Yancey
    Sticking with the FR Alltels to be safe.

    but the NID is something I'm not clear on, since MW's listing didn't have any with special NIDs.. so I've left those at the default #.
     
  10. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Just put 65535 for the NIDs all it should be fine ;)

    Here are all the Alltel SIDs for our area (that I have in my phone):
    SID 74 for Northeast Tennessee/Southwest Virginia
    SID 83 for Richmond, VA
    SID 84 for Augusta, GA
    SID 114 for Charlotte, NC
    SID 116 for Greenville/Spartanburg, SC
    SID 142 for Greensboro, NC
    SID 144 for Raleigh, NC
    SID 156 for Charleston, SC
    SID 182 for Columbia, SC
    SID 350 for Florence, SC
    SID 368 for Hickory, NC
    SID 520 for Savannah, GA
    SID 1546 for Statesville, NC
    SID 1640 for Laurens/Newberry, SC
    SID 1650 for Orangeburg, SC
    SID 1652 for Hilton Head Island, SC
    SID 3226 for Myrtle Beach, SC

    Note that Western NC has no Alltel (yet), their PCS system is not in use, but hopefully it will be soon!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. techmonkey

    techmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5185i
    Pardon my newbiness on this, but basically I have these numbers now stored in the phone under nam1, sid entry. So there's not a 'catch', just more options for the phone to work from when I'm wandering from zone to zone..

    Hopefully not OT, but what about the reverse? should I have something set in the 'forbidden zone'? I suppose the 'Home only' option is sufficient, widen my choices only if I still don't have a tower..
     
  12. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Programming these numbers into your phone lets you go into more areas without seeing a flashing roam.

    The other (similar) settings for your phone are for locking out SIDs that would give you a solid roam.

    The only one I have blocked is 1518 (Ramcell)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. UFO

    UFO Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hampton Roads, VA
    My Phone:
    Palm Centro
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint and alltel
    There may be a catch, make sure that you're on a National Plan. Alltel also has several regional plans called 'Greater Freedom.' For your area, the regional Greater Freedom plan wouldn't include North Carolina, even if it's an Alltel SID.

    You may also want to forbid 1290, it's Appalachian Wireless and a chargeable roam that you may run into in some parts of Virginia just to be safe.

    424 might be a good one to add though. It's Alltel for Central Virginia up through Charlottesville and Culpeper, but it also extends all the way down near the NC border and is used for Martinsville, Danville, and everywhere around there. If you're in Northern North Carolina that might end up useful.
    4694, 93, 179, and 139 are not Alltel, but might be useful and should give you continuous coverage throughout West North Carolina and East Tennessee without charges if you're on a National Plan.

    Also note though, I was reading about your older phone in the other forum, and analog service may not be around much longer. It is no longer regulated and required to be operational at some point in 2008. At some time after that point, your phone may not be operational. A newer CDMA phone is a lot easier to program (just hit *228), sounds better, and some can be found relatively cheaply without a contract on eBay.
     
  14. techmonkey

    techmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phone:
    Nokia 5185i
    Thanks for the help.. it is a digital phone, it's not very old.. well, 5 years in cellphone time, perhaps is a bit up there. According to the logs, 31 hours total 'life'.. so no, it's not gotten much use.

    I'll have to double-check the plan to make sure it's the right plan for the situation.. And thanks for the tip on Appy Wireless. I figured there might be a few out there that well.. that I would want to avoid roaming with.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice