Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Roaming: Cannot dial out or receive call

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by cw30000, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. cw30000

    cw30000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sprint Mogul, and it's a great phone. It works as expected. It only until recently I start having problem. The problem I have is when I set the phone to roaming only, I cannot dial out or receive any call. When someone try to call me, the person hears few rings and it goes to voice mail. When I tried to dial out, it does rings a few time also, then Verizon says they cannot authenticated my device. I have hard reset and also flash the phone to the latest update, and it didn't solve the problem. I have contacted Sprint regarding this, but they are no help either.

    Does anyone else experience this before? How do you fix it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    When you set the phone to roaming only are you sure there is another network for you to roam on? It may also be possible that the other network does not have a roaming agreement, so therefore your phone will only allow you to dial 911 on that network.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cw30000

    cw30000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, Verizon is my roaming network. I always able to get on it, only until the past two months. Original through it just temporary network problem, but it is not. My brother and cousin has the same phone & plan, and no problem roaming.
     
  4. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Did you have anything done to your account such as a phone number change recently?

    Authentication problems for roaming usually have to be fixed by tech support. This was very common about 5 years ago but is less common now. I think the correct term for this is called a 'manual authentication override' which has to be done by tech support.
     
  5. cw30000

    cw30000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will call tech support later to give them any chance. Last night, when I called, they broke my data connection. I cannot access the internet any more.

    I have also dispatch email to ecare, they are usually very helpful.
     
  6. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    call tech support and ask for an HRL reload, that should fix your roaming issue with verizon.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    406
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    I've had this problem before with Alltel while trying to force roam on Sprint & Verizon.
    It happens about every few months, usually if I do too much forced roaming in a short time.
    I always fix it as soon as it happens, or the next day when their Authentication dept opens.

    Whats happening is that Sprint's network has basically blocked your phone from roaming on Verizon.
    in other words, Sprint told Verizon to block your phone from roaming on their system.

    It's a network safety and security feature to prevent phone (ESN) cloning
    and unauthorized use and charges of your phone & bill.

    How I always fix it is calling the Alltel Authentication department, give them my info, and tell them
    "my phone won't let me roam," they know exactly what to do,
    you just have to mention that your phone can not be authenticated.

    Alltel customers with this problem dial 1-888-295-3569
    Verizon customers with this problem dial #2539 (#AKEY).

    Sprint customers call Sprint Customer Service and report the problem as an authentication issue.
    If they tell you theres nothing they can do, then they are lying.

    P.S. Reporting the problem to the carrier you try to force roaming on will not work,
    you MUST report it to your own carrier, as it's your home carrier's system that controls your roaming.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    This will fix the problem. I had the same issue as you when I got the updated Mogul ROM, but I called customer care and they connected me to tech support and those folks tried a couple things but eventually the did the HLR reload and that worked and I have had no problems since and that was in mid March. It is relatively painless and when you get on the phone with the PDA tech support you can save some time because you won't have to trouble shoot some other things like I did.
     
  9. Kalimotxo

    Kalimotxo Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    6
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    My Phone:
    The latest and greatest.
    Wireless Provider(s):
    All of them.
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98; PalmSource/Palm-D062; Blazer/4.5) 16;320x320)

    so did u get the issue resolved? what ended up fixing the problem? keep us updated...
     
  10. cw30000

    cw30000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problems were resolved. The last tech I spoke with have me reset a lot of phone setting. I really don't know what they were. Do a hard reset and allow Sprint customization to finished, and everything works.

    Thanks everyone for your help.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice