Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

problem with sprint interference on cricket

Discussion in 'PRE-PAID Cell Phone Companies and Plans' started by cleatus, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. cleatus

    cleatus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a cricket cell phone and a virgin mobilecell phone also. when in my house and i try to make a call i get a message telling me i am within range of a sprint private network. move out of range of the private network to make your call. a neighbor has some sort of cell repeater or booster. is there any way around this?. can i get some sort of booster? or am i just screwed
     
  2. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    Wirelessly posted (Opera Mini on Alltel HTC 6800: Opera/9.60 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.14912/998; U; en) Presto/2.2.0)

    Those are not supposed to interfere with other networks, technically Cricket can have them cut it off.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    Re: problem with sprint interferance on cricket

    One of your neighbors has an Airave. I wish you the best of luck getting them to turn it off or have Sprint do much about it.

    I don't know if you could turn off roaming on your Cricket phone, but that would fix that one. The Virgin phone can't be fixed being that it's using the Sprint network, but isn't allowed on the Airaves.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cleatus

    cleatus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: problem with sprint interferance on cricket

    i might be in crickets " extended coverage area" possibly using sprints tower? if thats the case, u think i have any shot of cricket having them cut it off. is it possible for me to get such a device that counter what they are doing?
     
  5. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    Re: problem with sprint interferance on cricket

    You very well could be. I'm not familiar with the UI for Cricket phones, but most carriers allow you to block the phone from roaming. Do you see a roaming indicator on the Cricket phone when you get this error?

    There's not much you can do to isolate your phones from this signal. A direct connect repeater would be a possible solution, but you're looking at several hundred dollars to get that setup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. COtech

    COtech Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    My Phone:
    Sam. Galaxy SII Skyrocket
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility
    Re: problem with sprint interferance on cricket

    cleatus,

    Are you on good terms with your neighbor? Perhaps you if politely ask them to move it further across the room it's in, away from your home? Perhaps to the next further away room? Tell them why, of course.

    The Airave might be beside the window nearest you, to get the GPS position it needs (via satellite antenna) to operate. The owner might be able to chose another room and window.

    Otherwise, setting your Cricket and VM phones to "home only" or "no roaming" is about all you can do, as others recommend. You could try using your phone as far from this neighbor's house as possible, inside your own.

    A direct connect Yagi antenna, without a repeater, aimed at the Cricket or Sprint tower site could be the next step. The repeater could be added later, if needed.

    COtech
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 COtech, Oct 5, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2009

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2018 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice