Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Prl 10037 & 20226

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by larry, Feb 19, 2007.

  1. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    The latest update does make minor changes to roaming priorities in 12 states. It's mainly to help Sprint save money on roaming costs.
     
  2. chamb

    chamb Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like there is no good reason for anybody to update. Any take-away of a roaming partner or shuffling of roaming partners is probably not good for the user. If I tain't going to gain anything, then I tain't going to upgrade the PRL unless forced to do it. If it benefits Sprint, watch them force us to accept it on the newer phones that they can control better.
     
  3. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Sprint has been altering their PRL's for years to save money and as far as I know no coverage has ever been taken away. In fact new agreements continue to be made as well. They've been moving towards having CDMA roaming preferred in all markets while ditching analog. They're very close to reaching that goal now.
     
  4. budney

    budney Resident Headbanger
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,861
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    14
    Likes Received:
    341
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    My Phone:
    iPhone 6s+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Not to mention alowing the use of data while roaming on the last couple of updates. :)
     
  5. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    yeah but from what i understand..........data roaming isnt dependant on l/the PRL..........
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I believe that is correct. Data roaming is mainly turned on by the roaming carrier. If Sprint already has a voice roaming agreement with that carrier than data roaming should be good to go as well regardless of PRL.
     
  7. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Do we know what carrier was preferred over another in those twelve states???

    ...just curious...;)
     
  8. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    No, but if I had to guess I would say that Alltel is becoming higher in priority than anyone in all possible markets. Also any GSM/Analog carrier that might have been still in the PRL is probably being kicked out in favor of a CDMA provider. The changes could also have something to do with affiliate markets.
     
  9. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Yeah that makes sense regarding ALLTEL. I thought that this was already the case in most markets after the ALLTEL/Sprint roaming deal a few months ago. What about U.S. Cellular??? Maybe they moved up in priority over Verizon. ;)
     
  10. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Could be any CDMA providers moving up over any other. Hard to say because that info is not released in the bulletin. But there are some people on Hofo that eventually decode the PRL's and find out what exactly they do. They've also been known to do some housekeeping in the PRL's by removing old or obsolete entries that are no longer serving a purpose. Some of those 12 state changes could have just been quality control.
     
  11. n2uao

    n2uao New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phone:
    Moto RAZR V3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint since 11/98
    Question to you guys regarding data while roaming: If one has the Free America plan with Power Vision, are there additional roaming charges?
     
  12. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Nope. Roaming charges are a thing of the past with Sprint. As long as you have a roaming included plan you're fine.
     
  13. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    if you have the data plan........data roaming is free...........and if the base plan says roaming is included.........voice roaming is free as well..........keep in mind that when roaming.........text messages are 15 cents regardless of whether or not you have a texting package.........and long distance is 20 cents a minute if you are making a long distance call while roaming........

    although i dont know exactly what long distance entails while roaming....:confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I am never charged for texts or long distance while roaming.
     
  15. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I wouldn't know about texts while roaming because my LG isn't capable of that. :(
     
  16. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Not even incoming texts while roaming??
     
  17. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Yes that should work however I haven't had a chance to test it out because I haven't had to roam since I've had this phone. I suppose I could test it out by forcing roam and sending a text from another phone to my phone.
     
  18. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    i get charged 15 cents every time i roam.......havent had a chance to test out the long distance while roaming........and does long distance mean long distance calls from the area your roaming in or does long distance mean from your home area...........it was confusing.......but thats what a rep told me
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Do you have an older plan or are you in an affiliate market? There should be no long distance charges at all.
     
  20. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I'm pretty sure I'm not in an affiliate market and I have a SERO plan as of late November '06

    (Reading, PA 19606)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Then something's wrong. I wouldn't stand for any long distance charges or roaming.
     
  22. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    what about charges for texting while roaming..........i dont think its really fair to charge for long distance while roaming either........

    and you must understand........they arent charging me for roaming or long distance unless they are dont together...........then they say i will get charged for long distance but not roaming
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    There should never be ANY charges for long distance or roaming. PERIOD. Get it fixed.
     
  24. TKR

    TKR Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    My 2300 recieves texts fine while roaming, but it will not allow (will not even try) to send them when roaming. This is a firmware issue and the fact that Sprint or Sanyo does not release firmware updates for policy changes like this (the 2400 and Katana, which were relased later, can send sms while roaming) is very aggravating. The phone can do FOTA, but they have never released any update. What's the point?
     
  25. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Big Meanie
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9,254
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    2
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I agree, it is totally pointless and there is no reason not to fix it. The fact that some phones can do things while others cannot just confuses and aggravates the customer. As you say, it's an easy fix with a firmware update...there is no reason why they shouldn't issue an update. My girlfriend has the same problems in that her 8300 can receive but cannot send while roaming. Since our phones sometimes roam at home, this is a rather big issue.
     
  26. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    This is the main reason I switched to the a900 from the 7400.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  27. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    To my knowledge all of the LG phones including the popular PM-225 cannot sent texts while roaming either. My LX-350 is also FOTA capable and there has been only one new software version released since I've had the phone. And that update totally overlooked the text while roaming bug. :(
     
  28. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    i have the MOTO V3m......it is FOTA capable and i can send and receive texts fine while roaming but they charge me 15 cents each even if i have a bucket of messages included in my plan.........kinda weird...........would rather they take 2 messages from my allotment than charge me extra but oh well........i just dont text then
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  29. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    I've never heard of anyone being charged for SMS roaming
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Neither have I unless it was in an affiliate market.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice