Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Poll: Do you have a NEST thermostat? (or similar)

Discussion in 'The Roaming Zone' started by JFB, Jan 14, 2016.

?

Do you have a NEST thermostat?

  1. YES!

    22.2%
  2. NO, but I want one!

    22.2%
  3. NO, but I have a similar Internet connected thermostat.

    11.1%
  4. NO

    44.4%
  1. JFB

    JFB Gold Senior Member
    Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    5,015
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    7
    Likes Received:
    794
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Simple Mobile (T-Mobile MVNO)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. palandri

    palandri Former Palm Guy
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    813
    Location:
    Chicago
    My Phone:
    Pixel 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Project Fi
    I just have no need to adjust my thermostat from my phone.
     
    charlyee likes this.
  3. JFB

    JFB Gold Senior Member
    Administrator Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    5,015
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    7
    Likes Received:
    794
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Simple Mobile (T-Mobile MVNO)
    What about the learning abilities? I tend to do a lot of manually adjusting; turning heat down at night and when leaving.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. dmapr

    dmapr Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Pixel XL
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless; MTS
    Honeywell RTH9580WF here. It's not so much to adjust from the phone, although my wife certainly appreciates that she doesn't need to get out of bed and pad downstairs to turn the heat on in the morning as to avoid unnecessary running. We don't always follow a set schedule, so we normally keep it off and turn it on as needed. The downside is leaving the house without turning it off is a more frequent event than we'd like to admit :)
     
  5. palandri

    palandri Former Palm Guy
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    813
    Location:
    Chicago
    My Phone:
    Pixel 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Project Fi
    In the winter I set it at 70, in the summer I set it to 75.
     
  6. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,999
    Likes Received:
    848
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    I've have a Nest. About 4 years now.

    Never a problem with it. And did not have any problems in January 2016 either. Outside temperature here was single digit and my home was nice and toasty. First that I heard 'twas a problem- or no problem

    I also have 3 Nest Protects (smoke/motion/CO) and a Nest Cam.

    It's great with the Auto Away feature. Never worry about leaving the heat on. Auto learn works well also.

    Controls my furnace and central air.

    I guess one can't believe every article in that it applies to everyone.

    But then again I seem to be very lucky with smart devices in general.

    I always hold them correctly.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    dmapr likes this.
  7. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,892
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    I have a standard Honeywell programmable thermostat and that has worked very well for us.

    We have 4 NEST surveillance cameras and though the cameras themselves work well, their app is real poor and their CS worse.


    Sent from my iPad Air 2
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    our3rotts and dmapr like this.
  8. viewfly

    viewfly Mobile RF Advisor
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,999
    Likes Received:
    848
    My Phone:
    iPhone XS Space Grey
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T; Tmobile SIM only
    What problems have you had with the software? I'm thinking iPod adding a second Nest.

    I mean it works for me. Notifications are sent fast to my watch or phone when motion is grabbed. ( caught your spider well too).

    Sure it could be flashier, I guess.

    Curious minds wish to know.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  9. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,892
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Oops, I missed replying to you vf. Sorry about that.

    Here's the situation, we have 4 cameras of which one is on all the time and the other 3 on a time schedule or when we are away.

    About 75% of the time, the app will tell me that my camera is not connected (see picture), when in reality it is and working except no picture. It is not always the same camera either.

    This poses a problem specially if I am out of the country, since I don't if I should ignore what the app says or panic:D

    [​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. scottb

    scottb Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, U.S.A
    My Phone:
    Pixel 3a
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    We have two Nest thermostats and two cameras. The Nest app is OK for me but sometimes a little slow to respond.
     
  11. rachelsgoldens

    rachelsgoldens New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the thermostat since October, a camera and two smoke detectors. All work great for me.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  12. our3rotts

    our3rotts An Iowa Gurl...
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    E. Iowa
    My Phone:
    Google Pixel
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZN - 4G
    We don't have a Nest. We do have a 7 day - wake, leave, return, sleep - programmable Honeywell. I only wish it could control the whole house humidifier, but I have to change that one manually...
    It works for us. As many other automated things that we have, the thermostat and lighting are 2 things we haven't moved to network.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. palandri

    palandri Former Palm Guy
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    813
    Location:
    Chicago
    My Phone:
    Pixel 3
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Project Fi
    I have D-Link cameras and outlets.

    Through my cable company I have an Arris DVR that has a modem and wireless router built into it. For my cameras and outlets, I setup a secondary Asus wireless router on port 4 of the Arris DVR. Everything has been working fine for the last year.

    This morning I got message telling me the Arris DVR was going to reboot for internet improvements. LOL! After it did that everything went haywire with my Asus router, my cameras and my outlets.

    I thought it would be easy to login to the Arris DVR and the Asus router to fix everything, no so! The Arris DVR wouldn't connect to the Asus router. The cameras and outlets wouldn't connect to the Asus router. What a mess. After some network mapping I got everything to work. I hope this doesn't happen when I am out of town.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2018 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice