Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Phone Display

Discussion in 'AT&T Wireless Forum' started by adamchew, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. adamchew

    adamchew New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Why do some phones say "ATT" on the phone's display, while others still say "Cingular". My friend and I both have Cingular sim cards/Cingular phones, but his phone now says att and mine says cingular. Just curious why?
     
  2. hf1khal

    hf1khal Who am I to judge
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Ashburn VA
    My Phone:
    iphone 4, 3G S, BB 9700
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility, MTC Touch
    AT&T is doing this step by step. They send an Over The Air update to the SIMs and once it is done it will then display AT&T instead of Cingular. Give it a bit of time and your will get its turn to change too.
     
  3. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I wish this would happen in Southern California already...:(

    Cingular is SO last Spring...:browani:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Shizam76

    Shizam76 Shizam! Babyyyyy!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,145
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    95
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Illinois
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    I don't know how the phases of the change work....but my wife's changed July 9th. Mine just changed August 6th. Mike....I wonder when your sim group will be up?
     
  5. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I'm wondering if the T-Mobile/AT&T network unwind is responsible for the delay in the alpha tag change.

    There's a thread on HoFo about T-Mobile's MNC in California being changed to what it's supposed to be. As of yet, nothing has happened on my phones.

    Maybe by the year 2045 this will change, but I may not be alive to see it...:eek:;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. hf1khal

    hf1khal Who am I to judge
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Ashburn VA
    My Phone:
    iphone 4, 3G S, BB 9700
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility, MTC Touch
    Yes that has some thing to do with it big time.
     
  7. RJB

    RJB Gold Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,068
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    99
    Likes Received:
    36
    My Phone:
    iPhone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    That is strange how they do this lol.
     
  8. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I call it red tape...

    Maybe when the unwind expires (I believe next year), this alpha tags AND MNC's will change...:rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. blsemp

    blsemp Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Powdersville, South Carolina
    My Phone:
    Nokia 900
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    I was able to change my display early by going to the at&t web site and suspending my service( as in losing your phone). Then you can go right back in and turn your service back on. Walla AT&T.

    It worked for me and my family.

    :D
     
  10. TehJoE234797

    TehJoE234797 Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Samsung D807
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular/at&t
    you could always ccare and have them resend the IRDB in an OTA and you'll change from cingular to att
     
  11. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    when is that roaming agreement supposed to "expire" anyway
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    What difference does it make anyway? Years ago when Cingular formed I thought it was cool that a year later my phone still said CellularONE on the display. All my phones still read Cingular and I'm not bothered. Even after the update hits my SIM card a majority of my phones will still say Cingular as most of my phones have been modded to read the carrier name from the phone database, not the SIM card (So I can tell when I am roaming).

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. TehJoE234797

    TehJoE234797 Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Samsung D807
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular/at&t
    It doesn't really make much of difference, the newer IRDB's have the new alpha tag included in it. and like you said, you can have your phone modded to show whatever so long as you have a newer IRDB then your service shouldn't change. All the IRDB does it tell your phone which towers to pick up first then second and so forth.
     
  14. hf1khal

    hf1khal Who am I to judge
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Ashburn VA
    My Phone:
    iphone 4, 3G S, BB 9700
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility, MTC Touch
    I hear the new OTAalpha update alsoincludes more than just the name. It seems that tehy have changed the preference on the Bands to be on the 1900 instead of the 850. And if this is the case when one is in a an area that is 850 dominant it can end up creating voice and service issues like droped calls or bad call quality.
     
  15. TehJoE234797

    TehJoE234797 Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My Phone:
    Samsung D807
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Cingular/at&t
    I hadnt heard that, very interesting though
     
  16. charlyee

    charlyee Ultimate Insanity
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,904
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    My Phone:
    iPhone X
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t/Airtel/Turkcell
    Well, I live in a predominantly 850 Mhz, area and have picture perfect reception & in 3G, so I hope nothing messes that up. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. hf1khal

    hf1khal Who am I to judge
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Ashburn VA
    My Phone:
    iphone 4, 3G S, BB 9700
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility, MTC Touch
    If you are not picking up a 1900 by you then you should be fine. For me(based on the statemnet given to me by a local friend) my calls are not as clear as they were beofre the OTA update. In my area I am covered by both and I can tell you that I am on the 1900 because of the bars that I get on my phones (inlcuding a non 850 phone) and they are now at 2 to 3 instead of 5 or 6. It is for sure prefering the 1900 and once in a blue moon when I step to teh basement where the 1900 service is not there it goes to 4 bars and get a better call than being on the 2nd floor of my house.
     
  18. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    If that is true that may make me switch. In my area 1900 is stronger than 850. Before integration I used to lock my phones into 1900 only mode. Once integration was complete I stopped doing that as my phone would jump onto 1900 as needed.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. hf1khal

    hf1khal Who am I to judge
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Ashburn VA
    My Phone:
    iphone 4, 3G S, BB 9700
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility, MTC Touch
    You are right . I noticed that my calls are a lot beter when I was in N. VA as compared to home in NY. Call quality at 2 or3 bars was as good as 5 bars and very clear. I am happy to say that in my new N. VA home location at 3 bars the service is clear.:biggrin:
     
  20. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    maybe the SIMs really are "smart" as they put it :wink:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. Fire14

    Fire14 Easy,Cheap & Sleazy
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,446
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Union County NJ
    My Phone:
    EnV
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I am suprised they haven't fixed this issue yet, I don't have that problem here in NJ it seems I am camping on & using 850 vs 1900 since I haven't seen a degrade of my coverage on the phone from Blue to Orange, especially in the NYC/LI area it would make more sense to have the phones use 850 over 1900 to prevent these problems like you are having. I don't have a problem with call quality either & even in VA & SC and in between I didn't notice any call quality problems.
     
  22. hf1khal

    hf1khal Who am I to judge
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,269
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    1
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Ashburn VA
    My Phone:
    iphone 4, 3G S, BB 9700
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T Mobility, MTC Touch
    Well there is a couple more steps for me to do, but I would have to wait till I get back from over seas. One is get a new special OTA to unblock the netwrok selction (which I doubt it will help as on teh BB one can not prefer between the two, or go for a new SIM (the at&t branded one) which I doubt will help too as I already have one line with it and it does the same.
     
  23. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    yeah............the disappointing thing about band selection is that you have to pick either "850/1900" or "900/1800"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    That's right. I forgot that you were moving to the same town I'm in. Here 1900 is the old blue network, and 850 is the old orange network. Before integration I used to lock my phone onto 1900 (blue) for better call quality, but since integration I have watched my phone switch back & forth between blue & orange as needed. From watching my field test screens it appears the the phone will prefer the frequency that has the strongest signal. If it makes any difference I have the blue, white, & orange Cingular branded 3G SIM card, and I have not gotten the AT&T alpha tag update yet. Generally with 2-5 bars there is excellent call quality, 1 bar could be choppy (I'm almost never down to 1 bar except in very rural areas).

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    I've hacked my Motos to offer more choices.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  26. Shizam76

    Shizam76 Shizam! Babyyyyy!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,145
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    95
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Illinois
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    Jay...my wife's RAZR is modded...(and my old RAZR is too) and her tag changed to AT&T.
    This update they are sending must change the name in the phone database....as when my wife's phone said AT&T....mine still said Cingular. Mine has since changed too.... :( So, your modded motos will change too...they shouldn't be affected by the modding? :dunno:

    I wish they could send me an update to this TREO that allows my phone to read ALL from the database...and not from the stupid sim :mad:
     
  27. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    I don't know, because while they were doing integration my modded phones showed the blue network as AT&T Wireless, and my unmodded phones showed Cingular. We'll see. I haven't gotten the update yet. Seems like everyone else in my area did weeks ago. When I meet up with Mom next week I'll check her phone. If hers is changed then I know something is up, because her phone is on the second line of my family plan.



    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  28. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    I just checked my phone, which has been saying "Cingular" all along, and it now says "AT&T".

    I called CS a couple of days ago about something different and asked about the alpha tag change. The rep mentioned that they are doing it sequentially, whatever that means, so it really doesn't have anything to do with regions.

    This is why some customers have phones that still say Cingular and others that say AT&T.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  29. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    August 24, 2007...:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  30. Shizam76

    Shizam76 Shizam! Babyyyyy!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,145
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    95
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Illinois
    My Phone:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t
    Ahhh! Well, welcome to the club sir! :cool: :D
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice