Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Nokia 3100 and 3120 Compatibility

Discussion in 'GENERAL Wireless Discussion' started by jurypower, Jan 6, 2008.

  1. jurypower

    jurypower New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, RI
    I'm thinking of buying a Nokia 3120 fone and using the SIM card from my present fone,
    a Nokia 3100, in it. Are these fones compatible regarding the SIM cards?

    Thanks
     
  2. M in LA

    M in LA Mobile 28 Years Plus
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    My Phone:
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, XS Max
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon (since 1994)
    Yes, they are compatible with SIM cards, BUT keep in mind there is one major difference between the two. The 3100 came in a US tri-band version (850/1800/1900mhz) and a Euro version (900/1800/1900mhz). You most likely have the US version.

    As far as the 3120 goes, it was only made in a European version, meaning it is missing one of the American frequencies (850mhz). If you are with AT&T, the 850mhz band is the most important one. The 3100 won't work in areas where AT&T has 850 mhz service, which is many places. It would ONLY work in areas where AT&T uses the 1900mhz band.

    The 3120 would work with T-Mobile because they only use the 1900mhz band. Though they do roam in some areas on AT&T's 850mhz band, this would be the only limitation. T-Mobile does not roam on AT&T's network in many areas at the moment, so for the most part, you would be OK.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mframe

    mframe Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Western MA
    My Phone:
    Pixel 3aXL, Moto G7 Power
    Wireless Provider(s):
    TracFone, PagePlus, TMO, Xfinity, H2O
    Yes, Cingular (now AT&T) did have a version of the 3120 with the 850 Mhz band. Look under the battery, at the phone's label, and make sure it says 3120b. The "b" means it has 850 Mhz.

    If the new phone has the b, you must also be sure the new phone is either unlocked, or is locked to the same provider as the previous phone.
     
  4. jurypower

    jurypower New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, RI
    Thanx to both for your comments and assistance.assistance.
     
  5. dmapr

    dmapr Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,463
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    My Phone:
    Pixel XL
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless; MTS
    BTW, 3100 and 3120 are so similar they use the same firmware. As long as it's 3100b/3120b or 3100/3120 they're completely interchangeable.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice