Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

No GSM coverage on Ocracoke

Discussion in 'Southern US Wireless Forum' started by george_r_1961, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. george_r_1961

    george_r_1961 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton VA
    My Phone:
    blackberry 8330
    Wireless Provider(s):
    ntelos
    I dont understand why there is no GSM coverage on Ocracoke. GSM coverage is weak on the north end of the island(where there is NOTHING) and non existant in the village on the south end of the island.

    My TMO phone will make a nice paperweight on my next trip down there:rolleyes:
     
  2. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,392
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    The GSM coverage on Ocracoke is provided by a tower almost on the tip of Hatteras island. If you pay attention you can see it from the ferry. It is a short tower, probably because a tall tower would get beaten up by the sea and weather in that location. It is unfortunate. If a tall tower could be placed there a larger portion of Ocracoke could be covered. If I remember correctly zoning issues prevent any new tower construction on the island. Unless you have a Motorola phone with an external antenna GSM is useless on Ocracoke.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Eric47

    Eric47 Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    in my own house
    My Phone:
    crackberry's
    isnt the point of getting outdoors and relaxing to disconnect from phones and things? i know it is for me at least...
     
  4. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,392
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Not me. I suffer from disconnect anxiety, and found it a pain that I couldn't use phones on the island... Well, I could, but I was the only one using an external antenna. Everyone else I was trying to call was on the island as well, but did not have external antennas. I remember my brother in law & I drove to the village of Ocracoke to go to the store. We tried to call my sister who was at the beach with the kids, but her phone didn't work. On a side note the shopkeeper was very honest. I had dropped a $20 bill on the floor by the counter, and the shopkeeper ran out to the parking lot and flagged us down to return it.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jerry 12

    jerry 12 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    greenville , nc
    My Phone:
    BlackBerry Bold 9930
    Wireless Provider(s):
    us cellular / Verizon
    the outer banks and all of eastern north Carolina east of Greenville is terrible for gsm coverage.when bell south built the gsm system here in Greenville ,NC they covered the town fair and then didn't build out the system for several years. i had the first number that was giving out to a bell south customer in Greenville it was 919- 412- 0000 i liked what the phone a nokia 2190 and system would do but the coverage just wasn't their. back in those days i had 360 all so and their coverage was a lot better so i finally just had the gsm service cut off. gsm does have nicer phones but i need service where i can use my phone just about any where and that would be uscc and cdma in the eastern part of north Carolina. :) i just wanted to add the the at&t gsm system here is all 1900 .
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,392
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    I had fantastic GSM coverage on the outer banks with my Cingular V551. Even my iPAQ worked in most areas on the islands. The northern islands are covered very well, and I did notice some native TMO coverage on the islands as well. I was shocked to see that. I had great coverage with a standard phone. Once the Ocracoke ferry gets about halfway to the island you are out of service for a few minutes, but then you have service again at the docks. Without an external antenna service fades out about 1/2 mile from the dock. My Motorola V551 with an external antenna worked on Ocracoke, but the farther south you went, the worse it got.

    You may be interested in my coverage report I did a few years back... http://forums.wirelessadvisor.com/s...verage-report-outer-banks-north-carolina.html

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jerry 12

    jerry 12 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    greenville , nc
    My Phone:
    BlackBerry Bold 9930
    Wireless Provider(s):
    us cellular / Verizon
    i made a Boo Boo when i said the outer banks i was thinking about ocracoke sorry about that part but the coverage from Greenville until you get to the out banks is not good.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. AndThenScottSays...

    AndThenScottSays... Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    My Phone:
    V3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel, T-Mobile (prepaid)
    It is depending which road you take. AT&T has coverage on 64 now and has for awhile.
     
  9. Jay2TheRescue

    Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,392
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    158
    Likes Received:
    419
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My Phone:
    Essential PH-1
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    When I took that trip to the outer banks, I left via 64. I had my V551 teathered to a laptop, and I was taking pics of towers with my digital camera, and uploading them to the gallery as we drove. I think only once or twice on 64 did my data connection drop. If you look in the gallery I have several pics of towers on 64.

    -Jay
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2020 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice