Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Nextel - Boost

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Drew10162003, Aug 13, 2004.

  1. Drew10162003

    Drew10162003 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola i60
    Wireless Provider(s):
    NEXTEL WIRELESS 800MHz IDEN ---- Plateau Wireless
    Hi,


    i just got a boost mobile nextel Prepaid


    Ok hears my Quesition can i use my boost sim in a NEXTEL phone or will it mess up the phone or sim???????????????????? i have talked to pepole that said it won't and that it will i'am at a total Loss Any Responce will be help ful
     
  2. bobolito

    bobolito Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    12,735
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    50
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    My Phone:
    iPhone SE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    It's the same company and the same type of phones, so I don't think you'll have a problem putting your SIM in any Nextel phone. The main principle behind a SIM card is that you must be able to place it in any compatible phone and be able to use your service transparently.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nextel has GSM?

    Only GSM phones have SIM Cards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Critic

    Critic The Digital Ruler
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Princeton NJ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    I thought that too, but apparently IDEN uses SIM cards too.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the Info.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Drew10162003

    Drew10162003 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola i60
    Wireless Provider(s):
    NEXTEL WIRELESS 800MHz IDEN ---- Plateau Wireless
    No NEXTEL - BOOST use sim card GSM is not the oonly network that uses SIM card's



    So bobolito you don't think any will happen?

    Boost said puting a BOOST sim in a NEXTEL phone will Fry the nextel phone ?Can this be tru
     
  7. ushutup

    ushutup Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    My Phone:
    LG8100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    It will not fry the phone. You can put a boost sim in a nextel phone and it will work fine, but you can't use a nextel sim in a boost phone unless you unlock the boost phone first.
     
  8. bobolito

    bobolito Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    12,735
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    50
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    My Phone:
    iPhone SE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I didn't think unlocking was necessary since Boost and Nextel are the same company.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. coalminer

    coalminer Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Royalton, OH
    My Phone:
    Blackberry Tour
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Depending on what Boost phone you have and which Nexel phone you are trying to put it in, the phone will make and recieve calls, but the phonebook may not be accessible.


    For example if you take a SIM card from an i60 and put it into an i730, you would not be able to save or retreive entries from the phonebook on the SIM card.
     
  10. ushutup

    ushutup Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    My Phone:
    LG8100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Boost locks their phones I think because they are cheaper prices for pretty much the same phone. If that makes any sense.
     
  11. Etorres777

    Etorres777 Life is good for now..
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t Mobility
    I'd figure they'd want to give their contract costumers better deals than pre-paid. Go figure..
     
  12. Drew10162003

    Drew10162003 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola i60
    Wireless Provider(s):
    NEXTEL WIRELESS 800MHz IDEN ---- Plateau Wireless
    OK i called a Dealer and he Said the NEXTEL needs to be Unlocked No matter what
     
  13. Etorres777

    Etorres777 Life is good for now..
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    at&t Mobility
    Well so much for that.
     
  14. ushutup

    ushutup Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    My Phone:
    LG8100
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    The Nextel Does "NOT" need to be unlocked when using a boost sim, Only a Boost phone with a Nextel sim does. He gave you the wrong answer. (probably to make a buck)
     
  15. Drew10162003

    Drew10162003 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    texas
    My Phone:
    Motorola i60
    Wireless Provider(s):
    NEXTEL WIRELESS 800MHz IDEN ---- Plateau Wireless
    ok well i'm geting a i95 With a Messed up LCD ribin
     
  16. bailenforcer

    bailenforcer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Depends on the phone I assume, the Nextel i860 I was told will work with a Boost sim but text may not work without a software load. Does this make any sense?
     
  17. chillspider015

    chillspider015 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    My Phone:
    motorola i860
    Wireless Provider(s):
    boost
    i have an i860 and i cant get it to work on boost and im getting mad i put my sim in and it asks for a unlock code and i dont know it and its not the temp i cant figure this out the 000000 security code doesnt work iether if anyone knows anything about how i can get my i860 to work on boost please message me id appreciate it
     
  18. bobolito

    bobolito Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    12,735
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    50
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    My Phone:
    iPhone SE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Wow! This thread was dead for almost 3 years and came back!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. bailenforcer

    bailenforcer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Got my BOOST sim back in April and works great on my i860 Nextel phone, other than text messages that i never use, all funtions seem to work great.

    I think text messaging is idiotic, why type with little keys and take 6 times as long to type something when I can direct connect or call them or leave a Voice mail way faster and don't have to read those impossible to decipher shortcuts people use that I think sometimes they don't even know what they mean LOL.
     
  20. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    iDEN and GSM both use SIMs but if we're lucky iDEN wont be around much longer..........you can put a Boost SIM in a Nextel phone with no problems but if you want to put a Nextel SIM in a Boost phone you would have to unlock the phone
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. bailenforcer

    bailenforcer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan

    I have a Nextel i860 and run a boost sim in it now, it works just fine
     
  22. SmArTeStChIlD421

    SmArTeStChIlD421 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    My Phone:
    Blackberry 8830
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    thats how it should work...........Boost even says so in the Customer FAQs
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. johnner1999

    johnner1999 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    not that it really matters.... but I think iDen is a form of GSM - uses very similar protocols that were "modified" by Motorola
     
  24. TelcomJunkie

    TelcomJunkie Bad Handoff Investigator
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    151
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The 4145
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Big Brother
    Correct, the call setup and processing iDEN uses is based off of and very similar to the GSM protocols.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice