Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

NET 10 SIDs- how to find

Discussion in 'Central US Wireless Forum' started by JasonWells, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. JasonWells

    JasonWells Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    My Phone:
    AT&T i phone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T, VZW
    On the NET 10 phones, a Nokia, how can one find what system it is using? The reception and quality seem to be great! They must have many roaming agreements, the signal is usually very strong. I haevn't found anything in the menu options to make it show what system it is using. How can that be viewed?
     
  2. KyleAndMelissa22

    KyleAndMelissa22 Woot Woot, Splat !!!
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    400
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Gaffney/Spartanburg,SC
    My Phone:
    LG Lucid 3 / G4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless (SID 299, NID 173)
    Net 10 mostly uses the AT&T GSM network, and SIDs are not used with GSM.
    Also, the UI's on the prepaid Net 10 phones are not as good,
    and the options to view whose network you're using is likely hidden & locked.

    But chances are, you are using AT&T's network with Net 10.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Scott Watson

    Scott Watson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    The networks you use depend on where your phone number is assigned. South Dakota has almost no AT&T presence. It is more likely you will have a CDMA phone and that will operate on Alltel in SD, and roam on Verizon outside of Alltel's home area. Alltel is noted for good coverage.

    NET 10 = Tracfone. No one has taken interest in decoded their PRL, but while they have coverage almost everywhere, they will always favor the carrier that gives them the best deal.
     
  4. JasonWells

    JasonWells Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Dakota
    My Phone:
    AT&T i phone
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T, VZW
    Thank you for the info. I purchased it and activated it in Mankato, MN, which has AT&T..I think. It has a SIM card, so must be GSM. Comparing signal to the T-Mobile, it seem to prefer Alltel GSM, but also T-Mobile. In the Minneapolis area, it must use AT&T, because the signal strength doesn't match T-Mobile. It also must use Long Lines wireless in IA. Anyway, thank you for the help. I suppose the phones are locked up tightly. Anyay, in the areas of use, it seems to have good reception. ;)
     
  5. gpatrick900

    gpatrick900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    My Phone:
    Audiovox 8600
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Pageplus which uses Verizon
    You can tell what network your phone uses. Open up the phone. Remove the battery. If the is a sim card. C4 is ATT T? is Tmobile. I dont know all of the codes. If there is no sim chip, then you have a cdma phone.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2018 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice