Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

M610 problems

Discussion in 'Sprint Forum' started by ace41690, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. ace41690

    ace41690 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Connecticut
    My Phone:
    HTC Hero
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    So i have an M610. I live in a fringe area and its never been the best at getting a signal. Lately though it seems like its getting worse. I used to be able to hold a clear phone call in my house if i held the phone upside down, i was also able to kinda hold a garbled call if i kept it right side up. Lately however no matter what i do i cant get it to even connect unless i digital roam. Even the digital roam signal seems to be taking a dive lately. Funny thing is, my friend comes over with his M610, and it still works like my phone worked in the begging, it connects where mine wont. Therefore i assume somethings wrong with my phone. The only differencec between them is the firmware, mines a little newer. It just pisses me off that a friggin sanyo will work decenty well in my house while my samsung gets no signal. I had a sanyo last time and switching to a samsung was a horrible mistake. Also, at my other friends house, my m610 will only have two bars. My sanyo used to have 3 or 4 bars there, and my friends fusic constantly displays full bars. I know bar count isnt everything, but its very aggrivating. I have a warranty on the phone, so should i go to a sprint store and demand a new one or what?
     
  2. Airb330

    Airb330 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,544
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mt. Royal, NJ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Samsung and Sanyo's bars are different. A Samsung's one bar could easily be 3-4 on a Sanyo. They use different parameters. However, it does it seem like your m610 is defective. I would try calling CS (have fun with the hold times). They should send you a new phone. Going to a Sprint store will be a waste of time. They refuse to do any CS issues. I even had a note on my account to swap out a one day old phone that basically caught on fire. They gave me heck about it, but finally did it. Of course this store is just awful and probably not the norm, however, it seems Sprint's policy is for stores to just do sales. Good luck
     
  3. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    I'm not referring to anyone here because obviously we all know about bars but the one thing that really annoys me on wireless discussion in various forums is when someone says I'm only getting 2 bars on this phone but 3 or 4 on this other one so something must be wrong with the one that only has 2 bars. *rolling eyes* Bars are meaningless because each brand, manufacturer, technology, frequency, and even phone model can all vary. Sometimes people think that bars are god and it's some kind of industry standard or something. As long as you can make and receive calls that's the important thing. If not then something might be wrong.
     
  4. ace41690

    ace41690 Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Connecticut
    My Phone:
    HTC Hero
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I know, i feel the same way. It just seems that something like a phones bars should be standardized. It confuses uneducated people. However in my case, the phone actually cannot make phone calls where an identical model could, soooo something weirds goin on. It was fine in the beginning. It seems to be getting progressively worse.
     
  5. Fire14

    Fire14 Easy,Cheap & Sleazy
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,446
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Union County NJ
    My Phone:
    EnV
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    It would be real nice if they made them standardized but we know that won't happen without government involvement & we don't want too much government involvement in things.
     
  6. Bill Clinton

    Bill Clinton 10 years scandal free....
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York and Vermont
    My Phone:
    HTC Mogul
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Unicel
    I got the M610 and it never worked at my house so I bought a repeater. You probably don't want to do this so try seeing if Sprint will send you a new phone.

    It sounds like something is wrong with the phone if it did make and receive calls at your location before and now it doesn't or it is getting worse reception than before. If you think it got worse since an update you may be able to do a reset that will get rid of that update. Try getting the phone replaced because that should solve the problems for you.
     

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice