Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Living in a "Known Coverage Hole"

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Yankees368, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Do you really think it has to do something with the account if Sprint agrees that he is in a known coverage hole?
     
  2. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Well I have had sprint for a good 3 years now, and I have never had this problem before. Also, my coverage isnt that bad. I get anywhere between -85 and -95 dB. Never any higher. I know this phone is able to recieve calls in areas up to -106. It almost seems as if the phone looses sync with the tower. If the phone is just on idle for a while, say over night, the first few calls will not go through. I have no problems making outgoing calls at all.

    It has come to the point where I am leaving my phone on Analog roam overnight so it will ring in the morning. Funny, but it seems like the old Verizon analog signal is more reliable than the digital Sprint signal!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    The problem has nothing to do with being in a known coverage hole. I've seen Sprint phones with 3-4 bars signal and a -75 dbs signal with calls rolling to VM. It has to do with how many PN offsets are cycling in the phone and how well the system neighbor list has been engineered in a particular area.
     
  4. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    No it's almost never the phone that's the cause. What I would do is call customer service and ask them to reprogram your phone. Make sure and see if they instruct you to enter your MSID and MDN as the same number. If they give you different numbers for each one then that could be the cause of your problem. Also make sure you home SID is programmed correctly (this usually doesn't matter).
     
  5. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    so if it has been popping up just recently it might as well be something with your account, but it might also be a problem with the Sprint tower, maybe even capacity or a high noise level from the PN Offset your phone is using.
     
  6. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Well if his coverage actually was low it would have something to do with being in a known coverage hole, but as Yankees just wrote, his signal actually isn't that bad(which I didn't know...), so you're right, in this case it has nothing to do with a known coverage hole or whatever, it might just be a high noise level or, like you said, cycling through too many offsets... but why would that happen all of a sudden?? Did Sprint add a tower nearby that makes the phone switch between the new tower and the old tower he was always locked on to?
     
  7. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Nope, no new towers anywhere near here for years. As for the MSID and MDN, they are the same number. When i reactivated my 8200, i accidentally entered the from MDN, and the phone did not work at all. I was put through to something called American Roaming Services, and calls were like $3.00 a minute. Maybe Sprint has finally oversold this area and needs to add capacity?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I've seen Sprint phones with a -102 dbs signal working fine with every incoming call working. Then I've seen -75 dbs with incoming calls failing because the phone was switching between different PN offsets too frequently. CDMA is a weird thing sometimes. And yes sometimes adding a new tower can make things worse (although he said that didn't happen).
     
  9. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Here is a map of my local towers. The tower that I assume that I am using is located in Hewlett (Tower 1). That tower is about 0.8 miles away. It is the closest and covers most of this area. The next closest tower (tower 3) is about 1.2 miles away.The furthest tower (tower 2) which is on the Nassau/NYC boarder, is about 1.5 miles away, would it be useable?

    As you can see from the map, I am in the middle of several towers. They almost form a circle around my area. How can i read the PN offset on my phone?

    There is ONE building where they could throw up a tower, on a retirement home dead smack in the middle of the circle. Any chance that would happen? How would i need to bug to even make the wheels start moving on that one?

    EDIT: Just got off the phone with tech support again. This time somethng might have been done. According to this tech, some of the options on my account are old versions from 2002, such as call waiting and call fowarding etc. In the past, he said that they have been known to conflict, so he updated them and took off what i dont need. Wish me luck!
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #39 Yankees368, Jun 22, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2005
  10. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Exactly.

    But the whole process took a month to happen. :rolleyes: :mad:

    But it is still worth a shot Yankees if you don't like Sprint.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Wow.

    Those are a lot of towers. :eek:

    Good luck on the codes that the rep changed. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Yeah, this area is pretty much covered 100% in terms of outdoor coverage. Indoor coverage could use a few hundred more toweres. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint

    You could easily be pulling in conflicting signals from each one of those three towers PN offsets. You'd be surprised because the closest tower is not always the one that delivers the strongest signal to your location. I have a friend here in the LA area who can't even see signal from a tower that's 3/4 mile away but yet his phone reads off of one that's 1.5 miles away. Just depends on a lot of factors.
     
  14. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    So how can i figure out which tower i'm using and determine if there is a conflict?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Debug mode. Plus you need to ID each tower's PN offsets by driving to each tower location and making a note of all 3 PN offsets for each tower.
     
  16. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Oh, forget that. Each of those towers is located on top of a building, as well as all the equipment. Guess I will never know.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    No you just have to get within a few hundred feet of it to see what PN offset shows up. You can just stand/drive outside or around the building.
     
  18. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Well I wish you the best of luck, but I'm not so sure that old call waiting options/versions would make any difference reception wise/incoming call wise, but it's a nice try and I really hope it works.
     
  19. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Oh yes, Larry, I agree that CDMA is a werid thing. I've made a call with Verizon inside Yellowstone with a -106 dbm reading and an Ec/Io of somewhere in the -20's and it didn't drop for a while, but have had calls not come in/problems making calls because of the phone seeing too many towers in an area that is pretty well covered, dbm wise.
     
  20. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Ok, now that I know that, what exactly do I have to see on the service screen to tell me the PN offset. There are a lot of numbers and letters flashing on that screen.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  21. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    Yeah, I bet. ;)

    I wish we had that many towers down here, but I don't live in a "big" city. :p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  22. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Yeah, it's very easy to put towers up around here. Not a NIMBY for miles! Most sites arent towers anyway, i would say that 90% of sites around here are on buildings.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. Gamer03

    Gamer03 Technology Aficionado
    Super Moderator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,065
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    74
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    The Florida Everglades
    My Phone:
    Motorola X Pure
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon Wireless
    We will have bigger building some day here.

    Then carriers will have to get smart and put towers on top of buildings, since 1900 Mhz signals do not travel too far. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  24. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    And when those bigger buildings are built, they will block your current signal all over the place. There is a cell cite in Queens along the Belt parkway that is on a 2 story motel. About 10 feet over, a new hotel was built, directly in front of the site. OOPS! :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    Keep in mind that carriers have to mount sites low in order to not cause pilot pollution. Anywhere between 2-6 stories is what they prefer. Anything higher than that is considered too high.
     
  26. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Dont forget the every now and then out of place monopole that becomes the only tower for miles. Why do they do that?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  27. NYCDru

    NYCDru Sprint Newbie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    Motrola V3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Verizon(former), ATT(former),
    If population is low and capacity needs are low why build more towres than you have to?
     
  28. NYCDru

    NYCDru Sprint Newbie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    Motrola V3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Verizon(former), ATT(former),
    Well. People in that motel must get GREAT signal. All they have to do is redirect/turn the panels and they will still cover a fair area.
     
  29. NYCDru

    NYCDru Sprint Newbie
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    Motrola V3m
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint, Verizon(former), ATT(former),
    This is why I am glad I live in NY.

    Any update on progress with this issue? You said Tech support replaced somethings on your account. any progress?
     
  30. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    What i'm talking about is towers in my area. There seems to be no need for a monopole because there are ample buildings to place them on. They ust decide to build a tower.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2021 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice