Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Living in a "Known Coverage Hole"

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Yankees368, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    So I was on the phone with Sprint today, and guess what? They have now decided that I live in something called a "Known Coverage Hole," where when yesterday when I was talking to them, I was in the coverage area. I called them about having to call my phone 6 or even 7 times before the phone will acknowledge that there is an incomming call. This has made my phone almost useless while at home...it never rings! Now sprint wont help me out at all...AHHH!!!! :censored:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this near that Belmont Race Park?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Critic

    Critic The Digital Ruler
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Princeton NJ
    My Phone:
    Apple iPhone 3G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    Yankees - have you had an opportunity to see how well other services do in your home? Do you have any friends with Cingular or VZW (both 850 carriers - I suspect your house may be in a 1900 deadzone, but 850 might do the trick) whose phones you can test in your house?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Nothing works perfectly around this area. Sprint is actually one of the best. Verizon dosent really work at all here.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    There is a setting (if you can get into manual programming on your phone.) that you can change that will make your phone look for incoming calls more often.

    The tough thing is trying to get into manual programing on a Sprint phone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Yeah...i gotta change the slot cycle from 2 to 1 somehow.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. WirelessBeachBum

    WirelessBeachBum Soylent Green is People
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Hilton Head Island, SC
    My Phone:
    Thunderbolt...still
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW
    You can even change it to zero, but I don't remember is 0 was smaller or larger....kind of like an ACE being smaller or larger than a 2 depending on what game your playing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what i said in the other Post
    but Andy refuse to believe it.
    He thinks I'm just bashing a carrier.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. wgray8231

    wgray8231 I don't work here.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,457
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nashville, TN (SID 179)
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4 (temporary)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    They should let you out of your contract like they did for Gamer now that they admit there's a hole in coverage where you live.

    ...if you want to....
     
  10. reevejf

    reevejf Junior Member
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    My Phone:
    LG VX4400
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    I live in a coverage hole everyone in town is aware of and even people in the Verizon store are well aware of. (mountain blocks the signal) Granted I can get minimal signal outside, inside my apartment its useless. And there is no other carrier here that covers any better, my only choices are Verizon, Union Cellular, and UBET Wireless.
     
  11. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    I really dont want to switch, I like sprint. Good thing i dont really live here anymore. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. bobolito

    bobolito Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    12,735
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    50
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    My Phone:
    iPhone SE
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    You might consider installing an external repeater for your home. If you live in such area of LI, then I'm sure you can afford a repeater. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Airb330

    Airb330 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,544
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mt. Royal, NJ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Lol. I swear I see more CDMA slot cycle problems on the boards anymore...especially with Sprint :(
     
  14. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or he can activate CALL FORWARDING to his Home Landline Phone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. MOTOhooligan

    MOTOhooligan Former Mobile Data Addict
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,696
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    21
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    A Dead Zone
    My Phone:
    Motorola XT1929-17
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    Yankees, Sprint is just mad at you because they are KC Royals fans so they degraded your coverage. :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Hey.....hey.....cheap shot!

    Yeah, but isnt that 10 cents a minute on sprint?

    This one could be true...maybe i should become a Mets fan and switch to Verizon?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. jones

    jones Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't they offer first Incoming Minute is Free.
    Plus you don't have to answer it,
    so it goes to voice mail.
    Unless its an important call.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    No, sprint has not offered first incoming minute free for some years now.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. wgray8231

    wgray8231 I don't work here.
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,457
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Nashville, TN (SID 179)
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4 (temporary)
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&T
    That would cover half the calls I make/receive.
     
  20. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    link please..................
     
  21. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    If Call Forwarding is activated, calls will be forwarded to, say, his home phone, but will, to the best of my knowledge, not go to his Sprint voicemail if he doesn't pick up his phone since calls are being forwarded to his home phone line, his home phone answering machine would pick up if he has one.
     
  22. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    I would use this feature is is were not 10 cents a minue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  23. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Agreed, 10 cents a minute is ridiculous.
     
  24. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    I wish Sprint had something like cingular has, where you put the phone in a holder and it automatically fowards the calls for free.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  25. Andy

    Andy Diamond Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    10,281
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Phone:
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Wireless Provider(s):
    VZW, Vodafone D2, Solomo, Swisscom Mobile
    Well, you can't get everything. I agree, it would be nice, but I don't think Sprint would consider something close to that if they still charge a per minute rate to forward calls. VZW charges minutes to forward calls, which I already dislike, but 10 c a minute is a little too much for me to use it.
     
  26. Airb330

    Airb330 Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,544
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    3
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Mt. Royal, NJ
    My Phone:
    iPhone 4
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon
    If Cingular can do it for free (just mins), so can Sprint. 10c is rediculous!
     
  27. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    I don't think changing the slot cycle will do any good. That change is usually offset by the tower settings. Plus battery life will be horrible.
     
  28. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
    This incoming call problem usually does not happen because of a weak signal. It happens because there are too many different PN offsets in the area which have a conflicting neighbor list. Very common for Sprint and CDMA 1900 Mhz networks.

    However it can also be caused by an improperly programmed phone or account. Have you tried having your phone re-programmed? Or your account reloaded? Does you MDN and MSID match? A mismatched MSID and MDN could result in incoming call failuer as well.
     
  29. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,719
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S8
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Sprint
  30. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Compulsive Signal Checker
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,365
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    876
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    NYC
    My Phone:
    iPhones 4S???
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Verizon, Sprint 2002-2010, Voicestream 2001-2002
    Yeah, I saw that post. That would be great.

    This has happend with both by 8200 and 7400, so I doubt it's a phone problem. Could it be something on the account end?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2021 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

Positive SSL
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice