Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

Larry if you are out there....

Discussion in 'Northeastern US Wireless Forum' started by Calador, Apr 18, 2002.

  1. Calador

    Calador New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would I update my PRL on a sprint phone. My boss's phone has not been updated since he has had it and I know they have added roaming agreements etc in that time. The phone is a Samsung 8500
     
  2. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Yes it should be updated about twice a year at least. Two ways to do it. Take the phone into a Sprint store and they can do it while you wait or just by calling *2 and asking claire for a "PRL update". You then will be transferred to a live rep and tell them you want to have your phone "flagged" for an over the air PRL update. Once they set it up they will tell you to call *2 again in about 10 minutes and select 1 for english and then the update should take place in less than a minute or two. It will tell you when it's been completed. On rare occassions you will need to repeat the process if it doesn't work the first time. Make sure you view the PRL in your phone to make sure it worked. Current PRL is 10015.
     
  3. Dukedog

    Dukedog Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you check the PRL, do I have to press 6 ones and then press ok. I really don't know what to do.
     
  4. Calador

    Calador New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx Larry I tried it and it it says it updated but I don't know how to check the PRL on this particular phone. My boss is gonna try the phone tonight and let me know if it works better. I don't think it has been updated in over a year and a half.
     
  5. IdiOTeQnoLogY

    IdiOTeQnoLogY Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    on the 8500 goto

    setup/tools

    then Display


    then to Version


    the SPR DBDM:


    is your prl.
     
  6. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    On the Kyocera 2255 you do press six ones and then ok to check PRL and software.
     
  7. IdiOTeQnoLogY

    IdiOTeQnoLogY Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    also on the 8500 you can press

    Menu 8 2 4

    and it will take you to the Version


    also I replied to your other post Calador.....take the 8500 into the store and get a software upgrade it should help
     
  8. Calador

    Calador New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Ideoteqnology, I'll tell him to take it in to the store. I was just testin the phone to see if it was as good as my verizon Timeport p8767, and it wasn't. Not to say the service was bad but the phone seemed kinda cheap to me. Mebe I'm just not used to a samsung every cell phone I have had is a motorola. My GF on the other hand loves Nokias.
     
  9. Jack

    Jack Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    My Phone:
    Motorola T720
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    motorolas are good phones. Sprint does not currently sell motorola but they did have a version of your phone for sprint

    Jack
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Keep in mind that the signal strength meters will vary by each manufacturer. They all have their own ideas on what constitutes a bar. Some phones show the gross signal strength while others show the actual useable signal strength.
     
  11. IdiOTeQnoLogY

    IdiOTeQnoLogY Bronze Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    strange. one thing i liked about the 8500 was that it felt like a well built phone. i dropped a few times and it was tough.

    hey larry some good news. ive heard that new users of samsungs are reporting good signal holding ability....several users of the a400 who upgraded from the 8500 seem to concur with this. hopefully samsung fixed the problem.
     
  12. larry

    larry Sprint loyalist and former mod
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13,722
    Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    165
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    My Phone:
    Galaxy S22+
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile
    Yes and the Samsung N200 is said to be better than the SCH-3500 it replaced.
     
  13. Calador

    Calador New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to update, another coworker of mine has the exact same phone and I watched it for a couple of hours. It does not display this bouncing effect. This particular phone is 4 months newer. Perhaps it has the newer software. And as for my opinion of the phone it's all soo subjective. I'm just used to motorolas, I have always had a motorola. While my GF hates my phone and wants only Nokias. If I switch from the big V I will definately try for a phone like the nokia 3360. I always hit the danged antenna on my Timeport. I figure with an antennaless phone I wont have to worry about bending the bugger.
     
  14. Jack

    Jack Silver Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    My Phone:
    Motorola T720
    Wireless Provider(s):
    Alltel
    There needs to be more antennaless phones for the verizon/alltel/sprint/quest and any other cdma network

    Jack
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

Copyright 1997-2022 Wireless Advisor™, LLC. All rights reserved. All registered and unregistered trademarks are the property of their respective holders.
WirelessAdvisor.com is not associated by ownership or membership with any cellular, PCS or wireless service provider companies and is not meant to be an endorsement of any company or service. Some links on these pages may be paid advertising or paid affiliate programs.

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice